Does Pokemon Black/White Support WPA?

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by WingedElf, Mar 5, 2011.

Mar 5, 2011
  1. WingedElf

    Newcomer WingedElf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Topic mostly, this debates if I should preorder the game or wait.
    Yet for some reason, google is down on my side.
     


  2. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    If you play on a DSi or 3DS, yes.

    On a DS Phat or a DS Lite, no.
     
  3. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Unfortunately, they don't support WPA either. I have a DSi XL and it says that my access point is unsupported and then it tells me to go to support.nintendo.com.
     
  4. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, are you sure? Are you using a flashcart?
     
  5. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Yes.
     
  6. Daidude

    Member Daidude The genius

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The same thing happens to me when I play with my DSi because we recently got a new internet connection which is much faster but know my DS can't connect to the new internet when playing games. [​IMG] Does anyone know how to fix this?
     
  7. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    The thing is that your new 'internet connection' involves a router which has tougher security encryption and the DS doesn't support it.
     
  8. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    And that flashcart is why you can't use WPA. Flashcarts only work in DS mode, so they only work with WEP or no security at all.

    So, my original statement still stands.

    DS, DSLite, Flashcarts = No WPA.

    DSi, 3DS = WPA.
     
  9. WingedElf

    Newcomer WingedElf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys xD
     
  10. Wii_Manic

    Member Wii_Manic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DSi, DSi XL and 3DS themselves support WPA, for Internet Browser , Stores etc ( in other words DSi/3DS Only things )
    The DS games however don't support WPA encryption. Only None or WEP to my knowledge.
     
  11. ut2k4master

    Member ut2k4master Lord Tourettes

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    Germany
    pokemon black and white support wpa on a dsi, dsi xl and 3ds.
    it doesnt work with (most) flashcards, because the game just runs in ds mode on them.
     
  12. renes2

    Member renes2 ~New World~

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    My origin Pokemon White supports WPA2 (DSI) [​IMG]
    Yaaay [​IMG]
     
  13. Pingouin7

    Member Pingouin7 Ammako

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    That's the reason why I like that Black and White are DSi-enhanced.
    That means once I get a 3DS, I can use Wi-Fi without needing to change it back to WEP.
     
  14. Giga_Gaia

    Member Giga_Gaia Shinigami

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The DSi does support WPA encryption, but the DS doesn't and your flashcart is running in DS mode.

    Note: This doesn't apply if you have the new cyclods dsi flashcart, which runs in DSi mode. You can use the WPA encryptions then.
     
  15. YayMii

    Member YayMii #TeamChitoge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    DSi-enhanced games support WPA. Black and White is DSi-enhanced.
    The issue is that the game doesn't detect that you're using a DSi if you're playing on a flashcart (it'll play as if you were using a DS lite), so it is incapable to access the DSi features.
    Well, then again, the CycloDS iEvo works in DSi-mode, so it can use the DSi's extra features. The problem is that there isn't any known dump of either game that has the DSi data intact, so you won't be able to find a truly DSi-compatible B/W ROM (yet).
     
  16. Black ace

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wierd, I used a dstti on my dsi and I used mystery gift(To get the liberty pass) and it worked perfectly fine

    My security settings are WPA as well
     
  17. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    965
    Country:
    United States
    your a liar because the dstti only runs in ds mode.
     
  18. Pingouin7

    Member Pingouin7 Ammako

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    So the Japanese and French roms have a damaged DSi data?
    This would explain why wireless features and Wi-Fi works like crap in DSi mode.
     
  19. schlayer

    Newcomer schlayer Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Poland, Poznan
    Country:
    United States
    OT

    TIP. If your DSi can connect on wpa2, you don't even need a router or hardware AP on win7.
    Just go under admin privs to command prompt, put

    Code:
    netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow ssid=yourssid key=yourkey
    Turn on ICS to hostednetwork (Wireless Connection 2)

    go to cmd prompt:

    Code:
    netsh wlan start hostednetwork
    and voila, you got SoftAP.
     
  20. Black ace

    Member Black ace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not lying,The security settings on my router are WPA,on the dsi there's a setting to change it in to WEP to make it compatable with any games.I though the person who made the topic did that thus what I wrote above.
     

Share This Page