Play Time

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi guys

I'm new to all this softmodding so I've been reading loads of guides...

The problem is that my dvd drive doesn't always work (one of the reasons why i want to softmod it) and all the guides I've read say that in order to play games off the hard drive or usb, that there must be a ps3 game in the dvd drive.

Am i just reading very old guides or is this still the case?

Also can someone point me to the most up to date guide?

Thanks guys
wink.gif

mehrab2603

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Most games need discs in drive to play, but there is a workaround to that. You can use modified Eboots to launch games directly from the XMB, thus not needing any backup launcher like MultiMan and no need for disc in tray either.

Play Time

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
mehrab2603 said:
Most games need discs in drive to play, but there is a workaround to that. You can use modified Eboots to launch games directly from the XMB, thus not needing any backup launcher like MultiMan and no need for disc in tray either.

Wow thanks

Now what does all that mean......lol

Is there any good step by step guides you recommend (that are up to date)?

steve-p

Trophies
XP
Country
if you download multiman there is a utility in the rar that can convert the eboot to xmb mode - like psn stuff.

what it means is that the games show in the main menu - i dont know if they work from the usb drive like that though - you may have to keep them on the internal drive.

Play Time

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
steve-p said:
if you download multiman there is a utility in the rar that can convert the eboot to xmb mode - like psn stuff.

what it means is that the games show in the main menu - i dont know if they work from the usb drive like that though - you may have to keep them on the internal drive.

Thanks ill look in to what all this means
wink.gif