Homebrew DIOS MIOS, USB Loader GX, black screen? (help for a noob)

Ambidextroid

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
OK, so I am a total noob at this.
At first I only wanted to HB my Wii for Mario Kart Wii online, and I've done that using the Letterbomb method and dragging a few files onto an SD card etc., easy peasy.

But now I want to be able to load Gamecube games off of a USB stick without the original disk.

This is currently what I have:

- 2GB SD card, formatted as FAT32, with a bunch of folders on called 'apps' (which contains 'dios-mios-booter', 'dios-mios-booter-F', 'IOS236' which I used to install DIOS MIOS, 'usbloader_gx', 'WADManager' and 'wiimmfipatcher' which was used for MKWii online), 'bootmii', 'bslug', 'dm_booter', 'private', 'wad', a file called 'boot.elf' and a file called 'installer.log'.

- 15GB USB stick, formatted as FAT32 (nothing about cluster size, apparently that's important?) with a folder called 'games' on, with a folder called 'GALP01' on, with 'game.iso' on (Smash Bros. Melee).

When I open DIOS MIOS and choose Smash Bros., a message pops up saying 'fatal error apploader size is zero'.
When I open USB Loader GX and choose Smash Bros, the DIOS MIOS logo shows up and then cuts to black, and nothing happens.

Please someone help! I don't really know much about this whole thing at all.

Thanks!

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
France
I will assume that you correctly installed DIOS MIOS (and not Lite version, which is for games on SD card).

The error you see at the DM boot logo means that the game ISO can't be found.
it could be different issues :
- wrong partition. (be sure your 15GB stick has only one partition, not a hidden one first)
- wrong DM (DM with game on SD, DML with game on usb)
- bad iso (it happens)

what's strange is that you didn't mention an error when using USBGX, only the logo (no message there?) and then black screen.