Definitive Guide to installing PsGroove

Discussion in 'PS3 - Tutorials & FAQs' started by ThatDudeWithTheFood, Sep 6, 2010.

Sep 6, 2010
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,337
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    New PSGroove Hermes version 4+PSN access :

    Hermes v4 + PSN v2 (fw3.41):
    - All of the files listed bellow
    - Gogear HDD1630-1830
    - Gogear HDD6330
    - Gogear SA9200
    - iPod 4g Color/photo
    - iPod 4g Grayscale
    - iPod 5g video
    - iPod Mini 1g
    - iPod Mini 2g
    - iPod Nano 1g
    - Samsung YH-820
    - Sansa c200 v1
    - Sansa e200 v1


    There's also the PL3+PSN access, compiled by Fl0PPsy, here.
    PSGroopic
    For other dongle and device, you can check here
    or you can build your own using this website : http://www.project0.de/psgroove-maker/


    • Member

    Sao Mortel New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Message Count:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    PSN access? We can play online? Is it safe? What does it mean/imply?
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    PSN, yes you can play online, no it's not safe (we have no idea what Sony can check and ban for since nobody's been banned yet).
    • Member

    ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Message Count:
    843
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    I wonder what Sony will do. [IMG]
    • Member

    keine New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    345
    Country:
    United States

    Could you recommend a good theme to install for either/or?
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,337
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Sorry, I don't use themes at all, I don't know any.
    I think all the actual manager are lacking something which a theme can't help : a sub-menu for the options.
    Currently, you have to make combination or buttons to toggles options. Soon, you will have to make the Konami code in order to enable something [IMG]

    I hope the unified manager will be based on laoders from Wii, with sub-page and options to check/uncheck.
    • Member

    Ergo New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    614
    Country:
    United States
    Problem solved [IMG]
    • Member

    ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Member Since:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,199
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Does this happen with every manager or just those two?
    • Member

    Ergo New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    614
    Country:
    United States
    Problem solved [IMG] Thanks for inquiring, ThatDudeWithTheFood.
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,337
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Ergo, you know that it's very selfish doing that on a forum?

    What if someone else encounter the exact same problem?
    What if you were the only one with the exact same problem, and could help him?
    I'm sure he would love to find what you did to fix it, but instead he will only find someone who doesn't share. I can assure you, it's really annoying when you could have read the solution but the person just say "oh, never mind, I found how to do it".

    When you ask something on a community forum, and then find the answer by yourself, please, at least explain what you did to fix it.
    You came to get help from others, think about others wanting help from you.


    Sorry for the rant, it's really frustrating to see people not helping others after they asked themselves some help from someone else.
    I can't count how many time I found this situation to fix many of my problems : "oh, I found the solution to your problem, but I'll never tell ! I'm selfish and you're screw [IMG] "
    • Member

    ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Member Since:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,199
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    I think he just used a different manager.
    • Member

    xraven13 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    138
    Country:
    Croatia
    What about phones that use Symbian 5th generation, to be precise Nokia C6.... Can I jailbreak with that, and if not is problem because the JB app is not ported to Symbian or its something else ?
    • Member

    ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Member Since:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,199
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    If its not listed on the list I doubt its possible but if you search around I believe I once heard of a symbian psgroove patch
    • Member

    fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Member Since:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,991
    Country:
    Australia
    The reason why PSGroove has been ported to Android, iPhone OS, Web OS and Maemo, is because they are all based on a linux kernel.
    Otherwise we would've seen Windows Mobile, Windows Phone and Symbian ports.
    • Member

    xraven13 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    138
    Country:
    Croatia
    So games that are bigger then 4 GB cannot be run from external HDD ?? I must split them and place on internal ?
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,337
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Yes.

    In fact, some games can be launched and works fine until the game start reading the split file.
    Just put it on internal.
    • Member

    Selim873 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Message Count:
    270
    Location:
    Ohio, U.S.
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I'm a bit confused from the first post, can you put this into a nutshell for me? I have a TI-84 Plus calculator, and I have a Phat 40GB Used PS3 in reserve for purchase. So it's an older model, but I have NO idea what firmware it is, I do know that they don't sell this model officially anymore I believe so I believe that it'll be easier to exploit?

    I looked at stickies and I don't know what's going on. Here's my goal.

    I want to use an N64 emulator on my PS3, that's it, but I DO want PSN, maybe even PSN Plus for a year, I'm COMPLETELY new to this. I saw a video on someone using PSGroove on a 4.21 slim with that calculator, and since you have to repeat every step, it looks like something as if it would be a softmodded Xbox Original's RETAIL mode, which let you play live, by holding power and reset at the same time. Can you help a n00b out? :) I might not even do this, but I just want a flat out specific answer.
    • Member

    ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Member Since:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,199
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Well theres no N64 emulator so thats a no go.
    Also you can't have PSN or PSN Plus on CFW.It's just not happening.
    That video you seen well its fake so.

    Yeah this method is a no go now adays as far as hackign goes.
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,337
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    There are now two different methods to hack the PS3:
    - Memory patching: Using a dongle to boot the console, you need to do this step each time you boot. If not, you are in Official firmware.
    - Custom Firmware: Installing pre-patched files directly on the console, no need of dongle anymore, when you boot it's loading cFW. (no Official firmware possible without reinstalling the Ofw completely).


    Dongle method works on old firmwares, from 2.76 to 3.55 (I think, I don't remember well).
    Custom Firmware works from 3.41 to 3.55 only. (that's for the "known" firmwares, like Geohot, Kmeaw, Waninkoko, PL3, etc.)
    But you can create your own modified firmware instead of using known one, that way you can have Mfw2.76 too, it's useful if you want a hacked console with OtherOS for example).

    Custom firmware is the recommended method, but if you want to keep the console clean, you should install 3.41 official firmware, and use the dongle to patch the memory each time you need it.
    3.41 is the latest clean firmware (sony started to patch things in 3.55, like removing third party controllers)

    Being in Official Firmware DOESN'T allow you to connect to PSN.
    To connect to PSN you need 4.20+fw


    What you saw in the youtube video is a 3.41 (or 3.55) firmware with a Spoofed system version number.
    The spoofing is just "changing the number displayed on the system screen", it's used to lie to to game thinking you are already up to date and prevent asking you to update.
    But it doesn't contain the real firmware functions and data. it's just a fake number, to fool the games AND the users watching youtube video in order to download their $urvey files ;)



    if you NEED PSN, then no custom firmware for you. update the console (or buy a new one and keep this one for custom firmware/homebrew/hacking).

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page