CycloDS iEvolution

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Feb 3, 2011.

Feb 3, 2011

CycloDS iEvolution by Another World at 6:53 AM (6,622 Views / 0 Likes) 26 Comments

    • Former Staff

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,314
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    CycloDS iEvolution
    Got It!
    [IMG]

    The review sample sent from team Cyclops has just been delivered. I have only managed to spend a short bit of time with the kit, and after a bit more testing a brief hands-on impression will be posted. The newly released v2.0 software features a Homebrew compatibly layer which allows DS compiled homebrew (regardless of the library) to reap the benefits of DSi-Mode. I have tested, and confirmed, at least 2 DSi ROMs as working. Many others have provided an error that certain DSi data is missing from the ROM, a problem currently believed to be related to the dumps.

    Early impressions are that the kit is not that well built. Many reviewers and a few of my “insider” contacts have confirmed that their pre-release review kit has a few minor shell issues. Cyclops has assured all pre-release “testers” that they are attending to an off-center microSD slot issue and we hope that they will address any shell issues before the kit goes into mass production.

    The Flash Kit ships without a bootstrap, making it the first "legal" DSi compatible Flash Kit on the market. The end users is responsible for obtaining two ROMs, one for DS-Mode and one for DSi-Mode. Speaking of the two modes, once the bootstrap has been properly written, the end-user can swap between modes on-the-fly pending a DSi reboot.

    The possibilities of this Flash Kit are something to get excited about. What most users are curious about will be the improvements of DS software in DSi mode. I will be sure to do a full round of testing before the review is ready to be published. I expect to test DS ROMs, DSi ROMs, Homebrew in both modes, and any DSi exclusive Homebrew that I can fit in before the review is complete.

    As for the review itself, real life has me very busy, but I am spending all of my free time attacking the iEVO. Expect something sooner rather than later but not my usual 7 day 140+ hours turn around time!

    Please post any questions, comments, facts, tips, tricks, etc. I am still very much in the research phase of this review and I welcome help from our community.

    Cheers,
    -Another World



    [IMG] CycloDS iEVO Product Information


    • Member

    mercluke ‮҉

    Member Since:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,131
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    AW: would you be able to up a really quick video of the ievo booting into dsi mode?
    only vids i've found on youtube so far are unboxing apart from one where he boots it in ds mode
    • Member

    Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    Thank you very much, Another World!

    I think what might be interesting now: Pictures and videos of the GUI, and direct comparisons between iEvo/Akaio and iEvo/DS2. Loading speed, power consumption, etc.

    I myself never wanted the DS2 because it uses more power than a normal card. What's with iEvo now?

    Anyway, thanks a lot for your work. [IMG]
    • Member

    Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Member Since:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,221
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    power saving mode huh i wonder how that works and what that does
    • Former Staff

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,314
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i have to test every file twice (ds mode/dsi mode). that alone is going to take up the most of my time. i won't compare it to any other kit, but i will be sure to discuss each menu option. after that you can all make up your own minds.

    i'll see about some images of the GUI in a few minutes and a vid tomorrow (if i have time).

    cheers,
    -another world
    • Former Staff

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,314
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    here are a few quick images of the gui.

    [IMG]

    [IMG]

    [IMG]

    [IMG]

    [IMG]

    [IMG]

    -another world
    • Member

    shakirmoledina Legend

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Message Count:
    6,584
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    it says tht it supports rumble packs... i remember the ez 3 in 1 plus tht i am using was working well with the r4 but since i put the woodr4 firmware, the option on rudolphs app doesnt allow me to set the rumble nor does it allow me to use the expansion

    and how fast are we talking about when using DSi power, do emus such as genesis become faster?
    • Member

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Member Since:
    May 15, 2008
    Message Count:
    6,113
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whilst you're testing the DS vs DSi modes, can you test sonic rush adventure?
    Of all the flashcarts I've never had the intro sequence run full speed. It seems like a general issue and I'm wondering if DSi mode can finally alleviate that .
    • Member

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Member Since:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    1,941
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    héhé, Kinda into the same boat as Another World,

    iEvolution will take longer to review and that in a time with less time cause of real life stuff.
    Everything needs to be tested 2x and i bet re-dumps of dsi games with missing dsi data will come
    cause you can't play them in dsi mode on the ievolution.

    I only tested Pokémon black and White English translated with patch and without patch, it locks up after the 1st or second time you try to save
    We have to figure out/look-up what's extra in the games when in dsi mode (is there some sort of list?) to see if it really works.

    This is gonna take me a few weeks to review.
    1 plus point is that you can update your iEDGE bootstrap with the UFO delivered to flash the iEvolution with a bootstrap [IMG]
    No need to buy an extra device for that now [IMG]
    [IMG]
    • Newcomer

    johnchan New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Message Count:
    88
    Country:
    Greenland
    Have you tested this again with the v2.0 firmware? according to the changelog they improved stability for dsi enhanced games.
    • Member

    GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Member Since:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Message Count:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    French Southern and Antarctic Lands
    For those who missed it here is the demo from NightFox ( attached code in his post @ TC forums ) to test how much faster is the DS/iEVO in DSi mode. This demo just zoom x3 a 16 bits image in real time and filter half of it, soo it's very intensive cpu use. If you test it in both modes, you can see it runs smoothly and faster in DSi mode. Credits to Mbmax for the video.

    • Member

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Member Since:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    1,941
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Tested on 1st release firmware and on 2.0 firmware, same issue for both translated games.
    • Member

    SS4 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Message Count:
    289
    Location:
    In front of my Computer
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol i might need to get me one of these although I already own an AK2i and a SCDS2 [IMG]


    Awaiting on review to see if this is superior to the SCDS2 (man i hope they would release a DSi mode update too : / )
    • Newcomer

    johnchan New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Message Count:
    88
    Country:
    Greenland
    Can you try it with clean roms, no translation patches applied? Thing is, the people doing the patches could not have tested in dsi mode, so its possible that their patches break the game in dsi mode but not normal mode.
    • Member

    rezen New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Message Count:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As always, thanks for your hard work. I'm sure we can wait for one of your thorough reviews but can I ask you one thing? Could you please test whether DSi games are region locked when played on another region's system? e.g. Pokemon Black/White JPN on a USA or EUR DSi.

    Still praying for Korg DS-10+ to hit EUR but getting the USA version and this cart would be better than shelling out for an imported DSi on top!
    • Member

    Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    Oh. Will "My Cooking Coach" be displayed in French on a European DSi?

    Nice. Thanks a lot for all the images!
    • Member

    rockstar99 Hi

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    7,376
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    If I run Pokemon Black english patched on my NA DSi in DSi Mode will it run with video chat and all?
    • Member

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member Since:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,434
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed it will.
    • Member

    SifJar Not a pirate

    Member Since:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, to use this card you need to pirate the French version of the game. (as well as some other random game for DS mode).

    Anyway, what happens if you try to boot it in a regular DS when the DSi mode bootloader is the one in use? Will it boot normally, but running in DS mode instead of DSi mode? (I would assume so, as the Cooking Hack works on regular DS like that).
    • Newcomer

    komak New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Message Count:
    2
    Country:
    France
    +1

    i have bought the ievo for that, hope it will work!!
    korg ds+ will never be in europe dsi , i have try it with a real japanese cartridge, then resell it immediately..

    if it work i will post here,for now i am waiting in my post box...

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page