Converting Saves from VBA

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by juggernaut911, Feb 19, 2007.

Feb 19, 2007
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    so obviously I have been needing help with VBA/saves/misc with Pimping out my pokemans, well now I would like to convert a save and put it on my G6, then trade my new pokes to my actual Emerald. just my saves wont work!!!

    Overview:
    Problem: saves wont work on G6, they are they turn out to be the save I just had on and replaced

    Save types:
    VBA:
    .SGM not really sure but its like an instant save function for the VBA, its how it saves
    .SAV makes one for the ROM being played when closed, never works on G6

    G6:
    .# the standard G6 save file, little tricky for n0bs like me
    .is# the instant save save file, trying to replace this with the .SGM's

    Main Problem:
    use the G6 Save converter to convert a save but G6 is on crack and nothing changes (the save I replaced is like "copied" or something so the save I was trying to put in will be the first save I had on the cart [IMG]



    been trying alot of crap but nothing works!!! frown.gif been bugging the G6 Save Converter for info in the MaxConsole.com forums but no reply or just my Question being asked again but to me... in a weird way


    I would appreciate the help (if I get some)

    I have tried converting .SGM to GBA- .is# and .#


    • Member

    outphase Custom title

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    I have answered this before. SGM -> .is# cannot be converted. You must pad the .sav file to be the appropriate size. then rename to .0. The app does indeed do this. Input .sav output .0.

    Also, you have to make sure your SRAM bank is flushed out before you try copying a new save in, if not, your previous save will overwrite anything you put in. Do this by opening a different game.

    I'm sorry my answers required a little intuition and leg work... that's how I intend them to be.
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    thnx man! How do I change the sizes? I understand it now! I would always change the .SGM to .SAV by changing the name! I'm a retard! thnx man!

    radical how u r in both forums and I never see u, yet I remember ur sig... [IMG]
    • Member

    outphase Custom title

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    I wrote the G6 converter app you are asking about...

    Use padbin to pad the files.
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    I know u wrote...

    I tried the save transfer again but this time there was no game!!! ZOMG!!!
    • Member

    GeneralLeoFF New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Message Count:
    722
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    You can set the flash save size in VBA to 128k (default is 64k and wont work with the G6) and you will no longer need to convert the save for the vast majority of games worth playing.

    Options>Emulator>Save Type
    • Member

    mr_blonde_88 Torture You? That's A Good Idea. I Like That

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Message Count:
    913
    Location:
    Bristol (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    don't u mean .sg1 not .sav for VBA saves?
    Becuase wen i save my pokemon games thats the save type that i get
    • Member

    outphase Custom title

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    nope he means sav. the sg# files are saved states i believe. sav are sram saves
    • Member

    mr_blonde_88 Torture You? That's A Good Idea. I Like That

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Message Count:
    913
    Location:
    Bristol (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, but wen in Pokémon emerald, i went START> SAVE (in game) and that was the file i got

    Now, wen i exit VBA, open it, and play Emerald, i have the main screen and now the option to continue my game as normal

    but in OPTIONS>EMULATOR>SAVE TYPE i have 'auto' set, is that correct?
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    thats what I have mine on. AUTOMATIC - 128k


    I cant load the VBA written sav's
    • Member

    mr_blonde_88 Torture You? That's A Good Idea. I Like That

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Message Count:
    913
    Location:
    Bristol (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well, doesnt matter now, the .sg1, wen chaged to a .0, works fine with VBA

    [IMG]
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    wut .sg1? wheres that save from?
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    OH!!!! u mean .# ?
    • Member

    lurrtopia New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Message Count:
    194
    Country:
    United States
    VBA still hasn't fixed the bug for save type. I've tried many versions and VBA will always save to 64k. I've went as far as Read Only protect the files and use the vba-over to force the emulator to save and then create a save while in game. Still same result 64k.

    Though the easiest solution I have for making a 64k save work for a game that calls for 128k is to pad the file. It's very easy to do in dos.

    Just go to the folder where the save file is and type:
    copy /b savefile.sav+savefile.sav paddedsave.sav
    Replace savefile.sav and paddedsave.sav with respective names.

    I've done this multiple times and it has always worked for me. The game won't know any different and will load up and save like it should.

    After that try converting it with G6 Save converter and see if that helps.
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    WHAT?!?!?!?! so padbin.exe has no GUI? where do I type that? where the crap is padbin.exe available at!?!?!??!?!!!!!!!!!!!!1211?!?!?!???//!!
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    how am I supposed to type that in? do I type that in a batch file?
    • Member

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Member Since:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Message Count:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You can use a batch file, or just a command prompt. (Start -> Run -> cmd.exe)

    If you're going to use the command prompt, you'll find the "Open Command Window Here" power toy quite useful. It keeps you from having to manually change directories (folders).

    Windows XP power toys
    • Member

    outphase Custom title

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    I am going to abstain from helping any further. Any additional assistance would indeed require self-teaching.

    padbin 131072 savefile.sav

    I don't know how to make it clearer given the posts in this thread.
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    ooooohhh!!!! Mr. Grumpy (thnx for the help) that made no since...
    • Member

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,147
    Country:
    United States
    i tried some of this in the command prompt but it keeps saying it cant find the file (I'm in the folder)

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page