Configurable USB Loader

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by oggzee, Apr 11, 2009.

Apr 11, 2009

Configurable USB Loader by oggzee at 2:40 AM (5,791,100 Views / 9 Likes) 17,780 Comments

    • Member

    Hielkenator New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,989
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hmm, you could update your cios, latest d2x is v10 beta 53 alt.
    Also I noticed you have a minimal softmod.
    I'd recommend using modmii by xflak to get up to date.

    First I would check if your games aren't corrupted. Use Wiibackupmanager to check our games.
    Also check if your video mode for these games is setup right.
    This is especially important if you use AV cables or Componenet in combination with your tv.
    hostx9 likes this.


    • Newcomer

    hostx9 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Thank you a lot! It was the video mode which was causing problems *facepalm* (yes I'm using AV cables) I recognized this problem in the past but totally forgot about it because I fixed it instantly by changing the system screen settings back to what I've used before. But in this case this doesn't work, instead I only needed to set the screen mode to games default screen mode to make it work.
    Is there a way to apply this settings to all games as default setting (I didn't find a way to do that)? This way I don't need to manually set up all my games to use the proper screen mode.

    I will consider to take advantage of ModMii but usually I like to keep stuff clean and tidy to know exactly what is modded and how.

    Thanks again!!! now back to changing sda1 to sda2....
    Last edited by hostx9, Dec 29, 2012
    Hielkenator likes this.
    • Member

    Hielkenator New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,989
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes there a way to set it for all games, at least I think there is ( I'm a USB loader GX user 90% of the time...)
    Try pressing minus to get into the console view, from there press minus again to get acces to global options.
    If the setting is'nt there, you must use the CFG loader PC app ( configurator ) that is included with the official package.
    http://cfg-loader.googlecode.com/files/Cfg_USB_Loader_70.zip

    Just that you should know, USB loader GX has these basic options right from the apps GUI, wich is in my opinion awesome.
    hostx9 likes this.
    • Newcomer

    MasterMan194 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    88
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi, i have some problems.
    See this vid. Sorry for the horrible video quality:


    This is CFG's system settings:
    [IMG]

    CFG v70r50.
    I got r160 src devolution from "Jack of All Trad" here http://www.mediafire.com/?chjbjak97facb
    Got a 16 gigs pen drive as fat32 and put Baten Kaitos Eternal Wings as FAT:\GAMES\GKBEAF\game.iso and FAT:\GAMES\GKBEAF\disc2.iso. CFG does show it and i set devolution, NMM and widescreen options to on. It boots to a black screen and infite loop of wii's LED blinking.
    I have DM 2.6 installed.

    BtW, there's a way i turn GCreEX processed games back to ISO so devolutio could use?
    • Member

    Etheboss Official LULWUT supporter

    Member Since:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,004
    Location:
    Around somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It looks like CFG runs Devolution to start a GC game, if you want to use DM, you need to change the settings in CFG, where those are i don't know..maybe someone else knows...

    BTW, the flashing means Devolution wants the original disc to verify the ISO file.
    • Newcomer

    hostx9 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Thank you for helping me out ^_^

    Looks like I'll have to configure the default screen mode via the Win app since there is no options for this in the global settings.

    I know USB Loader GX since I've first modded my Wii but back then it didn't had support for some essential features (NTSF and wbfs file type support) which were present in CFG USB Loader and all till now I never had any problems with it. Oh and USB Loader GX is out of date if I'm not mistaking.

    Just for info I managed to change partition numbering without wiping my drive which is quite awesome. I had to add a fat32 partition on the end of the disc right next to the existing NTFS partition. The problem was I needed the Fat32 partition to be 1st primary partition instead of 2nd because I wanted to run GameCube games from it. The safest way to change this is by making a backup and wipe the whole drive (btw this is also the most time consuming way). Or you do a much risky task and modify the master boot record (not recommended at all except you REALLY, really know what are you doing)... But there was another way. I used Linux (ran it from the GParted Live CD) and the fdisk tool to delete both partitions and create them on the exact same place with different numbering. And it worked! (BTW this task is quite risky even if you know what you're doing, but I tested it first on my spare empty usb storage devices) yay \(^o^)/

    Thanks again ^_^
    Last edited by hostx9, Dec 30, 2012
    • Member

    skroooagh New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Message Count:
    134
    Country:
    Australia
    worked out my problem, it was related to folder structure ie something completely stupid+i feel like an idiot for wasting everyones time. thanks anyway icebrg5
  1. buyme56
    This message by buyme56 has been removed from public view by Vulpes Abnocto, Dec 30, 2012.
    Dec 30, 2012
    • Member

    Hielkenator New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,989
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This is were you are somewhat mistaken.
    USB loader GX is VERY up to date, it now supports FAT32, NTFS, WBFS.
    Also Bannersupport was first in USB loader GX, others have followed.
    Get the full pack: http://code.google.com/p/usbloader-gui/
    and replace the dol with this: http://www.mediafire.com/?7kjj0fcr6kcq2p0 for latest beta
    • Newcomer

    hostx9 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Thanks for the info on USB Loader GX, where do you track down latest beta versions (you only gave me a download link but I love to see the source page)?
    • Member

    Etheboss Official LULWUT supporter

    Member Since:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,004
    Location:
    Around somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Same place as where Hielkenator pointed you to earlier.. :P
    http://code.google.com/p/usbloader-gui/source/list
    • Newcomer

    manny-macias New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    How do you instal the beta version? Mind if i ask for a little guide? :lol:
    • Member

    IceIceBird New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    408
    Country:
    Sweden
    You guys should move "your" conversation to the right thread, this thread is about CFG USB Loader so pleasee keep it so..
    • Newcomer

    pokemonster New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Message Count:
    74
    Country:
    France
    force ntcu + english language = epic win


    hi anyone can add the support of usb 1 of wii with d2x alt v10 cios of davebol?
    Last edited by pokemonster, Jan 1, 2013
    IceIceBird likes this.
    • Newcomer

    spacedmonkeys New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Message Count:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I have not touched my Wii for 6 months or more... got a little bored over Xmas holidays and fired it back up.
    Updated to the latest version of CFG loader.
    Installed dios mios.
    Rebuilt my hard drive as fat32.
    Got my wii games all working fine, and got my gamecube stuff booting from usb drive too.
    I use "mighty channels" forwarder to play nand wiiware/snes/n64 stuff.
    CFG loader is showing all the n64/snes/megadrive/wiiware stuff.... so i can browse it .... but any of those that I try to play, I get loads of stuff on the screen in a black cmd window.
    Usually ends up with: "DML exception, DSI occurred".
    Yet the same game works through mighty channels.
    I have ensured I am on latest cfg loader, and downloaded plugins through the wii itself.
    Any ideas?
    • Member

    AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Member Since:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    4,148
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    o_O DM/DML is for gamecube games not for Wiiware/VC!?!
    You should install DM which works with games on USB an not DML which works with games on SD.
    So make sure you have the right setup and also make sure to select the DM or DML setting in CFG too (not sure if it's automatically checked but won't hurt to make sure)
    • Newcomer

    spacedmonkeys New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Message Count:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. I know DML is for gamecube. Gamecube is working fine from usb and I have DM installed not DML.

    I will take a screenshot later when I am in front of the wii.

    Let me explain more.

    I launch Mighty Channels. I select, say, Chronotrigger, it works fine and I can play it. I select World of Goo, it works fine and I can play it. I exit and restart my wii.

    I go to cfg usb loader. I can see all the games that are in my mighty channels, along with my wii and gamecube games . I select Chronotrigger. CMD window launches and loads of stuff scrolls up the screen. Then I get an error message "exception DSI occurred" ... and "restarting in 60 seconds".

    (sorry my original error message may have confused you, I dont think it is DML exception, that was an old error)
    • Member

    oji New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Message Count:
    188
    Country:
    Russia
    Have tried Mighty Channel plugin with a couple of N64 titles:
    • Mario Party 2 — black screen after the big N logo
    • Sin & Punishment — works, at least at first level
    • Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time — works
    • Paper Mario — hang on the Classic Controller warning
    Does any one know how to launch the Mario Party 2 & Paper Mario games? In the Mighty Channels thread it is said that "All Virtual Console games work".
    • Member

    Etheboss Official LULWUT supporter

    Member Since:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,004
    Location:
    Around somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No they don't, that statement is wrong, especially with the games that need the classic controller, and also wiiware tiltes have problems..
    The problem is that Mighty Channels still runs on cIOS, which still does not handle wiiware/VC very good, i guess compatibility is more like 80/90%.
    But if you would run VC in a NEEK environment, VC should be a 100% and wiiware titles almost a 100% (i know of one title that does not work, paper wars cannonfodder).
    oji likes this.
    • Newcomer

    spacedmonkeys New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Message Count:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, nevermind, I resolved my problem. Downloaded the latest r51t2 version, and all is now working fine.
    So either the solution was - r51t2 itself, or that the mighty plugin had not downloaded properly from the wii (as it was showing 0 bytes in plugins folder on my usb drive).
    Maybe some instructions on how to use and where to put the mighty plugin would help, I just guessed.
    • Newcomer

    arcsy New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hi, everyone!

    I'm curious if it's possible to sort CFG Loader's list of games that it shows? Like an option where you can only view Wii or GC games only?

    I updated my CFG Usb Loader online so now I have 70v50. It still works great for Wii games but not on my GameCube for some reason. I don't know what else I should check too, since when I use USB Loader GX or DIOS Booter I can run the GC games just fine.

    Also, does the new CFG loader automatically shows the channels installed on my Wii as well? I don't like how it shows those things and I want to keep it Wii/GC specific only.

    Thanks!

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page