Homebrew *Concept* Wii system menu replacement

roku93

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Finland
Actually I'm a little surprised there isn't any yet. So, I started thinking: What do I do with the Wii? I play games, of course. I watch movies and tv shows. I play around with homebrew programs. Wouldn't it be nice if there were a program to be started with preloader or bootmii that would do everything all in one? I'm no coder so I didn't start the devkitpro, insted I started a little photoshop session.

312xy13.png

artwork pictures loaded from sd:\\artwork\
goes through all the pictures in the folder and starts over.

256tt09.png

The icon changes in the topright corner according to your selection, as does the artwork on the left.

Boot homebrew loads /apps from sd, uses the same icon.png and meta.xml as the hbc, lists more applications per page and scrolls up and down. Works as expected.

Play games displays option Wii DVD and below that a list of games installed on wbfs partition. If Wii DVD is selected it asks do you want to boot it, or install it to the WBFS partition.

Play media browses SD, USB, SMB for media files and plays them.

The whole interface would be skinnable. The buttons on the lower corner are settings, Wii Menu and shutdown.

I think this would be something that would make the Wii almost totally independent of system menu. Maybe with the bootmii mini it would be totally independent of all the nintendo code. Expect I forgot all about channels.. But you can boot those with homebrew. banner.bin parsing is hard but maybe a savegame icon or something would be easier? Dunno, don't bother checking right now.

If I could code, I would be doing this. I can't, so I posted this to get the attention of a talented programmer. Unlikely, but my only hope at the moment. All the parts are there, someone needs to pack them togehter with a pretty interface. I'm willing to do all the graphics needed.

Thank you for your time. I understand this is pretty high-flying idea..