Commercial ROM Loading with MoonShell 2 & YSMenu Guide

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Blackiris, Apr 18, 2009.

Apr 18, 2009
    • Member

    Blackiris New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    <!--coloro:white--><span style="color:white"><!--/coloro--><div align="center">.</div><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    <div align="center"><!--sizeo:5--><span style="font-size:18pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Commercial ROM Loading Guide with MoonShell 2 & YSMenu by rtnario/Blackiris/XX256<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>

    <b>Last Updated: March 25, 2010 - 1:43 PM PH Time, GMT +8</b>
    -Guide updated for MoonShell 2.10 Stable!
    -Old guide moved because it's...old!
    -CannonFoddr's new AK2i guide added!

    As I have not been updated for some time, multiple ways to bypass the restriction of loading commercial ROMs have been created for many MoonShell 2 versions. It would help keep this guide up-to-date greatly if you would post here about them. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=";)" border="0" alt="wink.gif" />


    <hr />
    <b>R4 Original Guide - MoonShell 2.10</b>
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!


    <b>Acekard2i Guide - MoonShell 2.09</b>
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!


    <b>Old Guide (R4, DSTT, DSTTi, AK2, AK2 + AKAIO) - MoonShell 2.06 & Below</b>
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!



    <hr />
    <div align="center"><!--sizeo:3--><span style="font-size:12pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--><b>Tips & Tricks</b><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    1) If your original firmware file can come in the form of a seperate NDS file, you can always rename that to anything and place it anywhere on your card; this is for people who want to be able to access the original firmware from MoonShell 2.

    2) MoonShell 2's "Exit To Firmware" function runs whatever NDS file is named after your card (EDGE.nds, TTIO.nds...) and is located in the moonshl2/resetmse directory. Therefore, you can replace the file with your card's original firmware or any other application you'd like to be able to access through "Exit To Firmware" by simply renaming it.

    3) krnxmatt7: For those who have an R4 (Or, if you experience this problem on other flashcarts), have you even went into YSmenu to select cheats (or just YSmenu in general), but all of the font was disfigured? As in most of the text was unnecessarily capitalized, and when you selected cheats, the touch screen only said, "HELP_CHEAT"? Look, here is a fix to that problem.

    WARNING! Spoilers inside!



    <hr />
    <div align="center"><!--sizeo:3--><span style="font-size:12pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--><b>MoonShell 2 Extlink Plugins</b><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    These are extlink plugins for loading specific file types in MoonShell 2 with NDS applications. It would help to post download links here if you find/have any not on the list.
    Put these in the extlink folder of your card's MoonShell 2 directory.

    NesDS by = <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5803" target="_blank">http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5803</a>
    -NES Emulator.

    NeoDS by = <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5804" target="_blank">http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5804</a>
    -NEO-GEO Arcade Emulator.

    Tuna-viDS = <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5805" target="_blank">http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5805</a>
    -Xvid/AVI Player.

    GBA ExpLoader = <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5806" target="_blank">http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=5806</a>
    -Slot-2 loader for use with expansion packs.

    SNEmulDS = <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=188297" target="_blank">http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=188297</a>
    -SNEmulDS 0.5 loader made by Ben_j.


    <hr />
    <!--sizeo:3--><span style="font-size:12pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--><b><div align="center">Special Thanks</div></b><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec-->
    Original Contributers - linoul, Moonlight, Yasu, Densetsu3000, Chishm, yee, spinal_cord

    Guide/Tool Contributers - sprogurt, HoTsHoT89, Airth, unneon, Montevieau, Vampirex, ILIKEFLOOD, justtrying, CannonFoddr, krnxmatt7, Keeley, sscho97, helpwithr4, Xenon++, <a href="http://growfield.blog100.fc2.com/blog-entry-9.html" target="_blank">The Owner Of This Site</a>, kirokun, MasterTime

    Testers - Noitora, abilaunken, jester13, helpme, Chris_Skylock, <a href="http://mainframe004.wordpress.com" target="_blank">mainframe004</a>, <a href="http://leastonehundred.wordpress.com" target="_blank">counteralchemist</a>

    External Contributers - Normmatt, Maikel Steneker, Spec2K, Another World, Antoligy, Ben_j

    And of course, all of GBAtemp for allowing this guide to exist.


    • Newcomer

    PurplePox New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I cant get it to work on R4DS. If I rename moonshell to _DS_MENU.DAT the R4 gets stuck on the loading screen, and If I try to boot a game from moonshell, it says fatInintError, and when I turn my DS on after that It loads whatever game I tried to boot.
    • Member

    fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Member Since:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,980
    Country:
    Australia
    • Banned

    junker_man32 Banned!

    Member Since:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Message Count:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    so...does it boot straight exactly or does it load ysmenu, then you choose the game? cuz there is no point of this if it just boots to ysmenu. could this work for m3sakura hack???? cuz it does have the cheats function and shit....................................i have a REAL r4, i bought it a long time before the fake ones came out. damn NCARD..........
    • Member

    sprogurt New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Message Count:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    found a way for r4 and clones...here it goes:

    1.create a folder ysmenu (case sensitive).

    2.find ysmenu from the 1st post (latest).

    3.rename the downloaded ysmenu to YSMenu0810211800.zip

    4.download R4ysauto from here http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=103...t=0&start=0

    5. unzip r4ysauto and place the ZIPPED YSMenu0810211800.zip into the root of r4ysauto folder.

    6. click on r4 config, choose your language, then your cart, then if the yes or no option is available type yes, then you can choose this one, then your language, then type 4 then enter, then, enter, and finally 1 more enter.

    7. right hand click on R4_custom_English.zip and extract.

    8. find where you extracted it and drag and drop default.nds to the ysmenu folder we created earlier.

    9. Rename default.nds to ysmenu.nds (case sensitive).

    10. go back to where you extracted R4_custom_English.zip and open the ttmenu folder, now drag and drop YSMenu.ini (case sensitive earlier) to the ysmenu folder we created earlier.

    11.Downgrade your firmware to the latest official (safest) one and drag and drop the .dat file to in the same folder as the ysmenu folder (the one we created earlier again)

    12. Now rename moonshell2.nds to default.nds and drag that file and the moonshl2 with the added extensionfrom the first post.

    13. Now drag and drop all files to the root.

    These should be the files in the root of your sd card:

    [IMG]

    Got a problem? pm me and i'll sort it out 2moz.....4:00 am and i've got to go school by 8 >.
    • Newcomer

    linoul New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    12
    Country:
    China
    DLDI-patch the "YSmenu.nds" and NOT DLDI-patch the "nds.YSloaderForMS2.nds"
    • Member

    Blackiris New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thanks for correcting my error there ^^; Updated.
    • Member

    HoTsHoT89 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Message Count:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Something to add for the R4 and clones guide:

    Make sure to DLDI-patch the moonshl2.nds file, then encrypt it with chishm's r4crypt. Rename it to _DS_MENU.DAT and replace the one located at the root of your card, and it now autoboots.
    • Member

    Noitora ::

    Member Since:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    I'm getting a black screen when booting a rom with my AK2 D:
    I'll stick to AKAIO for now.
    • Member

    Blackiris New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    Damn, so it doesn't work on AK2, too bad...anyhow, this is still relevant information, so thanks for testing it out on AK2. [IMG]
    • Member

    Noitora ::

    Member Since:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    I might have done something wrong so wait for more input [IMG]
    • Member

    Blackiris New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    Argh, fine, I just really want to update this as much as possible you see [IMG] *edits first post again*
    • Newcomer

    linoul New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    12
    Country:
    China
    • Member

    Blackiris New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    Wait. Did you get it to work on AK2 using the above method? With the official firmware?
    Or did you follow the method but used the AKAIO MoonShell 2 Loader from your link instead of your YSloader?

    I need confirm that before I add anything to the guide. [IMG]
    • Member

    renes2 ~New World~

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    186
    Location:
    NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    It doesn´t work with my N5. The Touch screen gets gray, after i have choose a game..
    • Member

    Blackiris New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    If memory serves me, N5 is considered an R4 clone. Please follow the instructions given by sprogurt instead.
    • Newcomer

    unneon New Member

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2007
    Message Count:
    21
    Location:
    Niteroi-RJ
    Country:
    Brazil
    There is another ysmenu loader that works in moonshell2, but the install guide is in portuguese. Try to use: ysmenuloader

    It don't need a config file, but the ysmenu.nds have to be in the root

    sorry for my english
    • Member

    Blackiris New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    217
    Location:
    5th Street/8th Street
    Country:
    Philippines
    Unneon, the file you linked to was a different YSloader aside from linoul's, right? I tried "nds.ysother.nds" on my DSTT and it worked okay, except for the fact that the splash screen (put there for better or worse) slows down the loading and that if the YSMENU.ini file in the ysmenu directory exists and has an autoboot file, it will always boot that even though another file was chosen.

    Actually, your loader works perfectly without the YSMENU.ini file. Unfortunately, as of now we do not need alternate loaders but results with different carts. I will add your files and give you credit in the guide, but overall, I don't think just everyone here would prefer to have a country-specific splash screen that makes the loader take more time. ^^;
    • Newcomer

    unneon New Member

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2007
    Message Count:
    21
    Location:
    Niteroi-RJ
    Country:
    Brazil
    ysmenu.ini have to be in ttmenu folder or in root [IMG]

    the splash screen doesn't slow down the loading... It is because of palib+fatInitDefault. I made the splash screen to the screen don't stays changing while the fat is initing.
    Theres an version without the splash screen. I can upload this later. [IMG]
    • Member

    HoTsHoT89 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Message Count:
    163
    Country:
    Malaysia
    For some strange reason to anyone who got this working on their R4 (also for other flashcarts):

    Can Moonshell 2 view the TTMenu(contains the firmware files) and YSMenu(contains the ysmenu.ini and ysmenu.nds files) folders? Mine doesn't show up as if it wasn't there at all, but DSOrganise is able to view it just fine. It's definitely not hidden as well.

    Is anyone having the same problem as I do?

Share This Page