Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin freezing on DSone v3

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by madhair60, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. madhair60

    Newcomer madhair60 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been trying to play the US version of Portrait of Ruin on my DSone (v3), and for the most part it's fine. However, when speaking to Wind or accessing the menu, the game's liable to freeze up completely. I'm running the newest non-DSi firmware; is there a known fix for this?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. HokageNaruto

    Member HokageNaruto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    Who is the manufacturer of you MicroSD card and what class is it?
     
  3. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    @HokageNaruto: The manufacturer or class shouldn't matter here.

    @madhair: Are you by any chance using a bunch of cheats together? If you are, turn them off and see if it works.
     
  4. Synchromatic

    Member Synchromatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    It was a while back, but I think I remember something about some MicroSD cards had a slow-down for Castlevania (for R4, at least), while others didn't.
     
  5. madhair60

    Newcomer madhair60 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know the class, but it's a 2gb Sandisk MicroSD of some sort.
     
  6. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    This is a problem game. It locks and crashes for most people. It REQUIRES a microSD with a response time of 0.7ms or better....and then it's still iffy as to whether it will crash or not. I've even heard of a few people complain that the retail cart will crash on occasion.
     
  7. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,007
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Not on the still unreleased AKAIO 1.5 it works on every microsd even the slowest of the slow without crashing [​IMG]
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,306
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You can try loading it from the DSTT menu. I've heard that helps.
     
  9. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Damn, didn't think about the Castlevania games requiring a fast microSD.

    A friend of mine got the retail cart and indeed it crashes sometimes, which is quite awkward IMO.
     
  10. HokageNaruto

    Member HokageNaruto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    yea... thats why I asked
     
  11. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Sorry, I'm stupid...



    [​IMG]
     
  12. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Not to bump an old topic too much, but the weird thing about this game is that I swear that it used to play fine for me but it's been freezing lately. I suspect it's something to do with how my microSD card is formatted (recently I reformatted it).
     
  13. badbob001

    Member badbob001 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a 2GB card, try formatting it with 64K clusters. I have a non-SDHC 2GB card from adata formatted with 64K clusters and it works fine. Fragmentation can also slow thing down.
     
  14. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,610
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Normmatt it would really be appreciated if you could export that fix into an appliable ROM patch or better yet, a DLDI driver that could work on SC. There exists a successful patch out there but it works by taking out a LOT of sound effects from the game so it doesn't freeze seeking them. >.=.>;
     

Share This Page