Can't boot win 8 from sd card/reader

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by LysergCooltyp, Jan 5, 2017.

Jan 5, 2017
  1. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I got my DVI cable in the mail today and everything works, except I can't boot windows through a SD card/card reader. I set USB storage Device as highest priority and all options in USB configuration are enabled. The win 8 setup is executable on my laptop, but when I try it on the PC it says no boot device was found. Whats the issue this time?
     


  2. nero99

    Member nero99 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,480
    Country:
    United States
    First do not boot from an we care unless your card has high r/w speed. Second, you have to use win to USB to install Windows 8 to a USB/memory card. Do yourself a favor, just get a hard drive and install it to that because speeds will be very slow on a memory card.
     
  3. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I used rufus instead of win to USB because it's not a legit copy. A hard drive is out of the question as I don't need one for anything else atm. Will a normal USB flash drive solve my issue? I don't mind a slow installation.
     
  4. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,476
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Did you just set up the card as an installation medium, or did you actually install Windows to it? Some USB makers have an option to do this (I think rufus does). Also, as said above, the system is going to run painfully so. So much so that it won't even really be usable. You'd be better off with an embedded Linux OS. Windows has entirely too much of an overhead to be ran from a USB flash device (SD cards count as these too).
     
  5. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    @Joom good question. I chose the iso file and full install instead of windows to go. When i check the SD on my laptop it looks bootable and executing the setup brings up the installation, so I think i did it right.

    Since you brought embedded Linux up, the PC has a hard drive. I don't want to constantly have windows on the SD. Just use it as a medium to install on the PC's 500GB HDD.
     
  6. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,476
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Oh ok, I thought you were trying to install Windows to an SD and run it from that. Alright, so in rufus, what do you have the partition scheme set to? It might be defaulting to GPT if your laptop is newer and uses UEFI, which won't work on an older PC with a BIOS.
     
  7. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    @Joom Nah, I'm not crazy enough for that. The partition scheme is set to MBR, but I could use GPT since the PC has both a legacy BIOS and UEFI if that helps.
     
  8. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,476
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah do that. Otherwise, you'll have to set your hard drive to AHCI mode and enable some other legacy stuff.
     
  9. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Will do and then report back.
     
  10. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    @Joom that didn't work either.

    I changed the setting in rufus and re-did the process, then changed the boot mode on the PC to UEFI with secure off.

    CD, USB and so on are now gone from the boot sequence and instead UEFI: IP4 and IP6 are there.

    Upon booting the legacy and UEFI options are still there for the one time boot and choosing USB under legacy leads to device failed while the UEFI options do nothing.

    An attempt to burn the iso on an old unwritten disc fucked the laptop up somehow so its refreshing now lol.
     
    Last edited by LysergCooltyp, Jan 5, 2017
  11. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,476
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's just not your day is it? I really wish I could see this in person because I work so much better when I can see all available options. I've not messed with UEFI on PCs except for maybe two or three times. It shouldn't be detecting the card as a legacy device provided rufus properly set it up, though. What happens if you leave security on? That's probably a dumb question, but I'm kinda ignorant in this area.
     
    Last edited by Joom, Jan 5, 2017
  12. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah, it isn't. I shouldn't have gotten out of bed lol.

    I ran the onboard diagnostics to see if they would mention any issue, but as expected, they didn't.

    If i leave security on nothing changes. I just get no bootable device.
     
  13. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,476
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Do you have an 8 gb flash drive lying around? Hate to say it but that'd probably be more fruitful.
     
    LysergCooltyp likes this.
  14. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    unfortunately no. im gonna pick up one tomorrow tho and see how that works out.
     
  15. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,773
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    You can try with the official Windows Media Tool, I've always had good luck with that one - but I think the issue here is that your SD card probably presents itself as some weird device instead of a Removable HDD, which impedes boot. An USB flash drive will fix that ;)
     
    LysergCooltyp likes this.
  16. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    With most of my files gone from the laptop after the recovery, that is worth a try. I'm downloading the windows media tool right now and will let you guys know if it works once i get the usb stick.
     
    raulpica likes this.
  17. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    @Joom @raulpica burned the media tool iso as a data disk on a 10-ish year old blank disk for shenanigans reason and that failed to boot as expected. I'm picking the USB stick up after work, so in the meantime here's an album of the bios and boot options that may help you guys find any issue besides the SD card.
     
  18. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,773
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Looks fine... Maybe the DVD drive in the computer is busted? Anyway, the USB stick will certainly work ;)
     
    LysergCooltyp likes this.
  19. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,476
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'd recommend disabling any legacy options. They're not necessary for 8.1+. Or are you dead set on using 8?
     
  20. LysergCooltyp
    OP

    Member LysergCooltyp I don't know why the microwave burns

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Nah, any OS is fine. I just had them enabled for the screenshots and will turn the boot rom option off when i select UEFI.
     

Share This Page