Hacking Bricking a Wii with Wiikey

Tiyuri

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I'm just getting into the whole modchip scene, taking a look at various options and let me tell you - finding correct information is not easy, there's a hell of a lot of misinformation out there and many sites have completely conflicting reviews.

What I really want to know is though, can the Wiikey brick the Wii? I've heard that if you install the wrong firmware update with a new game (smash bros/galaxy?) your Wii can be bricked, is this true? If not how does bricking actually occur? Is it fixable?

Once the chip is fully installed, how much hassle is it actually playing backed up games? Will I have to jump through hoops? Mess about ejecting and reloading CDs?

Any information on the actual experience I'm likely to receive out of installing one of these would be much appreciated. Should I wait for the scene to grow up a bit before I take the plunge?

coolbho3000

GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic
Trophies
XP
Country
It's not that the Wiikey itself is bricking the Wii, it's the firmware update that is - but you'll be perfectly fine if you play games only within your Wii's region, even if they are backups.

For most other region games, updating to the latest firmware will prevent the game from even launching an update. However, some new games like SSBB will still prompt you.

In SSBB's particular case, the update is pretty safe except for the fact that you will get duplicate Japanese news and weather channels (impossible to remove for the time being). Unless you use the 15% trick that is (please search to find out what this is).

For other games, especially third party games, Wii Brick Blocker will successfully remove the update and the game will still run without any update whatsoever.

Keep in mind that these precautions are only for other region games, if you stick with games naturally compatible with your Wii's region you'll be fine.

Tiyuri

OP
Newcomer