Bootwii not loading

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Malamute69, Jan 1, 2013.

Jan 1, 2013

Bootwii not loading by Malamute69 at 2:26 PM (479 Views / 0 Likes) 17 Comments

    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hi - apologies if this is already out there somewhere - I'm pretty new here! After successfully getting my USB HDD to work and backing up games, I then found they wouldn't play off the HDD - I did some research and it seemed it was linked to a missing IOS .. not too sure - but in the process of trying to correct that, I think I may have bricked the damn thing!
    I have got a Nand backup and have tried to follow the process of restoring .. but to no avail! I have loaded the nand.bin and keys.bin files onto the root of the SD card and have also got the necessary bootmii folder with the 3 files on the card .. but the WII is NOT booting up to bootmii but rather goes directly to the WII menu, from which nothing works ...
    Don't know what else to do and am really hoping for some help ... bad start to the new year!
    • Member

    bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,663
    Location:
    GBAtemp. Duh! Konami Code:↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Did you have Bootmii installed to IOS or to boot2?

    After booting to the Wii menu, are you not able to load the Homebrew Channel?
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hi - Please forgive my ignorance, but I am actually not sure if it was installed as boot2 or IOS - I suspect I have it as IOS ... and I know that's probably my problem! Correct - I can see HBC on the menu, but when I press START, it reboots the WII ....
    • Member

    bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,663
    Location:
    GBAtemp. Duh! Konami Code:↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    If you have it installed to boot2 you will see the blue light in the disk slot briefly flicker twice when turning on the Wii with no SD card inserted.
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    Nope - not happening ... so that must confirm IOS .. ? :sad:
    • Member

    bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,663
    Location:
    GBAtemp. Duh! Konami Code:↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Yup. But no worries. Since you're able to access the system menu there is definitely a way to fix your Wii.

    Are you able to get into the Wii settings? If so, what's your firmware version?
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    It's a relief to hear that .... It's 4.3E -- I assume that's the Firmware version .. Tx again!
    • Member

    bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,663
    Location:
    GBAtemp. Duh! Konami Code:↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    I think you can just use ModMii to re-softmod your Wii. Just tell ModMii that your Wii is virgin and follow the instructions.

    The ModMii topic is stickied in the Wii Hacking forum
    Click here
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hi Bowser .. thanks for the advice - I've re-done my SD card using SoftMod ... but the problem I have is that I can't get HomeBrew to load, and the Wii is not loading the SD card, so how do I start the install process on the Wii? Boots to the System Menu and I can see all the Channels, eg, if I select HomeBrew and then click on START - the Wii just reboots .. does that for any channel I select ... ;-(
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hi Bowser .... any further advice for me perhaps? I've spent bet part of the day today with that thing again and not getting anywhere - most advice I've received echo's what you said about it not being bricked as it does load to the menu - but nobody can assist in what i can do next though ....
    Somebody mentioned that there may be a corrupt IOS which prevents the channels loading or games being played, but I don't know how to restore that without preloader working .... any advice? Tx again ....
    • Member

    bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,663
    Location:
    GBAtemp. Duh! Konami Code:↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Sorry but I'm not really a Wii expert :P

    Hope one of the Wii gurus (xflak, tueidj, mauifrog, etc.) can come along and help you out.

    Have you tried using letterbomb to load homebrew?
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    Tx Bowser - I will waited with baited breath for one of them ;-D

    Unless I can get the SD card to be read - I can't install letterbomb either - I suspect ...
    • Member

    SuzieJoeBob New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Message Count:
    395
    Country:
    United States
    I'm glad someone helped you.

    Just be careful when it comes to the size of the SD card, as the Wii may not be able to read the card if it is SDHC. I got mine to read an 8 GB just fine, but that may not be the case for you. A 1 GB or 2 GB card is recommended, as they aren't SDHC cards (high-capacity). The Wii will definitely not be able to read SDXC, as that wasn't in existence when the Wii was originally created, so it wasn't taken into account.
    • Member

    bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,663
    Location:
    GBAtemp. Duh! Konami Code:↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Letterbomb requires you to put the proper files onto your SD card from your PC. Then you have to access the Wii message board which is not a channel. Hopefully it might work :)
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    Hi guys - tx all for the help - I'm following the tutorial that was given to me by a wii guru on another forum ... just mentioning in case you're wondering where I am .... I will let know soon how it goes! Tx again .... !

    ******************

    OK - here's update: Loaded Casper-Hakmii-fix onto SD card - ran Letterbomb (tried Wilbrand too) ...
    Then took SD to Wii and booted - clicked on the red bomb on Wii and Casper loaded up ... heart started to pump harder! ,, then ... a black screen with broken white text dump appeared and everything halted!

    ;-(

    ********************

    I wanted to try reinstalling just HBC and to get Bootmii IOS to work, as I DO have a backup of my NAND when all was working ...
    If I use just Letterbomb or even Wilbrand, I can get to the point of installing Homebrew and it says installed ... however, Bootmii will not install as it gives the follwoing error: "Uninstalling bootmii/IOS ... Removing title 0x00000000 Deleting 2 tickets -- ES-deletingticket failed for ticket view 1:4354"

    I am simply assuming that it may be a previous installation that is perhaps corrupt that the system is trying to remove before installing the new one?

    Also, after doing this and exiting the menu, the Homebrew page loads up (the one with the little blue bubbles rising) but there is nothing else on the page -- if I press the HOME button, it gives the menu, but Bootmii is not included so I can't do the restore of my NAND!

    Any further advice perhaps?

    I feel as though I am so close to solving this, but just missing something!


    By the way - using a 2GB Transcend SD card - I dont' think that is the problem though ...

    Tx a mil
    Last edited by Malamute69, Jan 2, 2013
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    NEXT UPDATE

    Managed to run Homebrew! YAY! I used SysCheck and DOP-Mii and they seemed to fix something! At least now my channels are working again and the system is no longer rebooting!

    Now - I still can't get Bootmii to install though (as mentioned above) so can't restore my previous NAND backup ... also, preloader will also not install - gives a IOS error when I try ...
    • Member

    bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,663
    Location:
    GBAtemp. Duh! Konami Code:↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Now that you can run homebrew again just use ModMii and follow the instructions it gives you. You should be able to reinstall everything using ModMii (priiloader, bootmii, homebrew channel, etc.). You only need to restore your NAND backup if the Wii is semi/fully bricked.
    • Newcomer

    Malamute69 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    South Africa
    I'm over the moon - IT's WORKING!!! Managed to install ModPack as well and slowly all seems to be coming right ... preloader is now also installed and working, as is BootMii ... AWESOME!
    Now I must just get my HDD connected and working and all is done! This old fart can learn new tricks!

    I actually dont think I will restore the NAND as things seem to be running better now than before! ;-)

    Boy have I learned a lot!

Share This Page