Bootmii problem (won't load Bootmii menu)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by HellFireXS, Aug 20, 2009.

Aug 20, 2009
    • Newcomer

    HellFireXS New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    96
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    I just installed Bootmii as boot2 (Which said SUCCESS) but when I turn on the system with the bootmii files on my SD card all I get is a black screen, no menu of any kind, but when I remove the bootmii folder or the SD card, my system menu comes up fine.

    I am new to this, the homebrew channel worked fine, but I must have screwed up bootmii somehow.
    • Member

    0M39A New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    check your .ini file, you might have the incorrect video format set.
    • Newcomer

    HellFireXS New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    96
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you so much, PROGRESSIVE is what I needed!

    NTSC (Default) didn't work.
    • Member

    0M39A New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    no worries, easy mistake to make [IMG]
    • Newcomer

    HellFireXS New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    96
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm it stopped working again, it worked fine the once, I made a NAND backup, then I moved the bootmii files to my PC and went on with Trucha Bug Restorer and cIOS then when I put the files back on (with Progressive) it no longer comes up, same as before.

    I don't know what I did to fix it if Progressive didn't do it.

    Am I missing some files? All I have on my SD card is

    \bootmii\armboot.bin
    \bootmii\bootmii.ini
    \bootmii\ppcboot.elf
    \installer.txt

    Black screen, nothing comes up, to shut the system down I have to hold Power for a few seconds, system boots fine without bootmii files/sd card.
    • Member

    0M39A New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    maybe it doesnt like your sd card that much? got another one to try with?
    • Newcomer

    HellFireXS New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    96
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    That could be it the card is pretty old but the only SD card I have. I will get one tomorrow (stores are all closed where I live now)

    Thanks again [IMG]
    • Newcomer

    HellFireXS New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    96
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    I wasn't able to get a new SD card, but I had a SanDisk 8GB micro SD card and an adapter which seems to work perfectly.

    I don't have an account at wiibrew.org but if anyone wants to add a SD card to their list:

    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/BootMii/SD_Card_Compatibility_List

    My GXT brand 2GB 133X card didn't work for Bootmii, it would only show the menu once every 10-20 Wii boots. It did fine with NAND backups though.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page