bootmii boot2v4

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bert02, Jan 21, 2010.

Jan 21, 2010

bootmii boot2v4 by bert02 at 8:13 AM (7,832 Views / 0 Likes) 37 Comments

    • Member

    bert02 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Message Count:
    142
    Country:
    Australia
    currently i have bootmii boot2v2 and read if i want to update i have to have boot2v4 how do i do that i have downloaded the latest version from there site uninstalled then reinstalled it and still have boot2v2


    • Member

    smf New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    727
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You get boot2v4 from nintendo, just do an online update. Then re-install bootmii
    • Member

    Salax New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Message Count:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    Just be aware that there is a 1 in 1000 chance that you'll get a brick with the update.
    HAVE FUN! [IMG]
    • Member

    techboy New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    You can also borrow someone's copy of NSMB and update from it. It has 4.1+boot2v4 on it.

    Bootmii does not require boot2v4 to work, nor does any system update, including 4.2.
    • Member

    bert02 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Message Count:
    142
    Country:
    Australia
    i tried with nus but get an error ret 1017 when trying to install the wad
    im on version 3.2 if i updated to 4.0,4.1,4.2 wont i lose the ability to install bootmii as boot2 then...?
    • Member

    tueidj I R Expert

    Member Since:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,569
    Country:
    You can't lose the ability to install bootmii as boot2. Older wiis always can, newer wiis always can't.
    • Member

    smf New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    727
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you know that 60% of statistics are made up on the spot?

    At the time the "1 in 1000 chance" was mentioned there was no data available for the Wii update.
    So it could just as easily be 1 in 100,000,000 or 1 in 10 (but 1 in 1000 sounds scary enough but kinda plausible)

    There are more people that have bricked by themselves making mistakes than boot2v4 failing to update.
    • Member

    FenrirWolf New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,597
    Country:
    United States
    You can't install the wad because boot2 uses different code to be installed.

    Second, boot1 is what determines if you can install BootMii, not boot2. boot1 cannot be updated by anyone. Ever. In the universe.
    • Member

    bert02 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Message Count:
    142
    Country:
    Australia
    ah ok sweet thanks for that will try updating to 4.2 then
    if i use a 4.2 safe updater does that install boot2v4 then?
    • Member

    techboy New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    The safe updater is just the 4.2 IOSes and menu. It skips the cIOS stubs and boot2v4. That's why it's "safe". No brick risk and no anti-homebrew stubs.

    Just to note:

    There is absolutely NO reason to install boot2v4. The only thing you get is a risk of bricking during install. If you just want the update messages to go away on your games, install startpatch or preloader and enable the skip disc updates hack.

    If you really want v4 for some unknown reason, the safest way to get it is to just update your wii. There is no safer way to get it, and even that still comes with a brick risk...
    • Member

    bert02 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Message Count:
    142
    Country:
    Australia
    ah ok cheers if i updated normally tho that would install the stub ios??
    i already have priiloader so will just update with safe patcher
    would anyone know if versions that come out with 3.4 firmware be able to install bootmii as boot2
    • Member

    linuxares New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,035
    Country:
    Sweden
    Just boot up the bootmii installer, then the hackmii-installer software will tell you if its possible or not. Easiest to find out that way.
    • Member

    smf New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    727
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And other people have the opinion that there is no reason not to install it. On the other hand, people running the 4.0 and 4.1 safe installers now will more than likely brick their wii.
    • Newcomer

    syndrom3 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Message Count:
    15
    Country:
    Hi everybody! I've updated my Wii using NSMB so now i'm with FW4.1 and boot2v4 (bootmii installed)
    Now i want to update to offcial FW4.2, since I already have boot2v4 it will be overwritten again loosing bootmii?
    My wii is modded only with D2PRO so i don't want to install any cIOS.

    Thanks in advice!
    • Member

    Krestent What to post?

    Member Since:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,950
    Country:
    United States
    Why do you want to update to 4.2??
    • Newcomer

    syndrom3 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Message Count:
    15
    Country:
    Thank you! [IMG]

    @Gordinio: some of the latest games require an update.
    • Member

    9th_Sage New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    I just wanted to add that you can also update Boot2 via DOP-Mii, since no one mentioned it that I saw.
    • Newcomer

    Triumph New Member

    Member Since:
    May 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    I'm curious how to update boot2 via DOP-Mii?
    • Member

    FenrirWolf New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,597
    Country:
    United States
    -Run the program
    -Choose to update boot2

    This ain't rocket science bro
    • Member

    happydance New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Message Count:
    215
    Country:
    Philippines
    okay since where talking bout boot2v4 and i think the OP already got his/her answer, might as well ask this question which been on my mind a long time ago.

    if i take out the nand chip of a perma brick wii which has boot2v4 and place it on a wii that can install bootmii and flash it with infectus or any other method. will i now be able to install bootmii now?

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page