ROM Hack Boktai Solar Sensor Patch Kit

Prof. 9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
324
Trophies
1
Location
The Netherlands
Website
twitter.com
XP
853
Country
Netherlands
So i was checking the source and found out how to change the buttons on the boktai 1 but on boktai 2 and 3 works wrong, the sun changes when i press left or right and stops changing when i hold A+R, so is reversed
this is what im using in boktai 2

ldr r0,=30044E0h
ldrh r2,[r0] // r2 = BUTTON_HELD
ldrh r0,[r0,2h] // r0 = BUTTON_DOWN
mov r3,080h
lsl r3,r3,1h
add r3,r3,1h
and r2,r3
cmp r2,r3 // if R+A held
ldrh r2,[r1,2h]
beq @@sunwrite

what i wrote wrong?
thanks
Change the last line to bne @@sunwrite, it should work then.
 

Prof. 9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
324
Trophies
1
Location
The Netherlands
Website
twitter.com
XP
853
Country
Netherlands
To people having problems saving/loading, does the problem happen with a clean, unpatched ROM too? If so, there's not much I can do about.

To people asking will it work on X... why not try it out and let us know?
 

8BitWalugi

Taiyohhhhhh!
Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,458
Trophies
1
Location
Side 7
Website
www.twitter.com
XP
1,588
Country
Australia
To people having problems saving/loading, does the problem happen with a clean, unpatched ROM too? If so, there's not much I can do about.

To people asking will it work on X... why not try it out and let us know?

It wasn't saving on clean either, but don't worry I got a fix!
It was simple too, I feel stupid for not knowing it.

(Copied from my help thread)
1) SRAM Patch in gbata
2) English translation patch
3) Select button Solar Sensor patch (Prof. 9)
(note, steps 4+5 are optional)
4) Name entry patch
5) Menu graphics patch
6) Use the EZ4Client to copy it on, save type EEPROM, save size 128kbits

EDIT: I didn't do step 4+5, and it worked fine.
After a lot of experimenting, I couldn't get them working. Maybe try using a save created with VBA.
 

jramon

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Mexico
I was playing boktai 1 patched an fond that the rising sun grenade fills the whole bar instead of only 4 squares and doesn't go down when in ends
later checked the other games and happens the same with the magic rising sun in 2 and the django transformation in 3
I used clean roms and the patches in the kit
anyway it doesn't matter much if does that.
 

NANASHI89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
2,473
Trophies
1
XP
5,333
Country
United States
I have tested a patched Boktai 2 on the VBA GX, it works, and there is an "option" in the middle of settings regarding time of day.

I call it "option" because you can't really change the time of day unless you change the time on your Wii.
 

mrgone

old man
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,330
Trophies
3
Age
45
Location
close to the oktoberfest
XP
2,877
Country
Germany
i find the L+R combo impractical, as is press L, a grenade gets fired every time, but R only pans the viewable area around
but how do i make a patch or a patched rom file out of the .asm file?

should i have made a new thread?

/edit
thanx to kode9's sources & armips, my boktai now changes sunlight with R+UP/DOWN
if anyone cares "0C0h" must be replaced by "040h"
 

KaOSoFt

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
178
Country
Colombia
i find the L+R combo impractical, as is press L, a grenade gets fired every time, but R only pans the viewable area around
but how do i make a patch or a patched rom file out of the .asm file?

should i have made a new thread?

/edit
thanx to kode9's sources & armips, my boktai now changes sunlight with R+UP/DOWN
if anyone cares "0C0h" must be replaced by "040h"
Hey there!

Could you explain how to figure out the control scheme? For instance, “040h” made it as R + LEFT/RIGHT, not R + UP/DOWN like you said.

Prof. 9, this patch is awesome! Thank you also for providing the source! :D
 

mrgone

old man
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,330
Trophies
3
Age
45
Location
close to the oktoberfest
XP
2,877
Country
Germany
http://nocash.emubase.de/gbatek.htm#gbakeypadinput

the values C0h and 40h are not the final values used

for R+L: C0h = 192 = 3x 2^6
for R only: 40h = 64 = 2^6

but the values are then left shifted using "LSL r3,r3,2h", basically a multiply by 2, executed twice (2h!), so multiply by 4, then the values become
for R+L: C4h * 4 = 240h = 576 = 3x 2^8 = 2^8 + 2x 2^8 = 2^8 + 2^9
for R only: 40h * 4 = 100 = 256 = 2^8

2^8 is the value for R, as the bit position 8 is used for R
2^9 is the value for L, as the bit position 9 is used for L
 
  • Like
Reactions: cearp

bookdragon143

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
162
Country
United States
I recently jailbroke my ipod touch and I wanted to play boktai because everyone says its a great game and I also remember the crossover from megaman battle network 4.
I patched the rom and it works but I have to pause the game and use the key combo for the sun to come up and it only stays for a few seconds. I don't have enough sun to get past the first castle. Am I simply doing the key combo wrong?
Some clarification on what exactly you need to do (what buttons to hold and what to only press) would be great.

Also if someone is willing to show the code to change the boktai one patch so its R+A instead of L+R that would be awesome too.

Thanks Prof. 9 for all the hard work!
 

Prof. 9

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
324
Trophies
1
Location
The Netherlands
Website
twitter.com
XP
853
Country
Netherlands
Some things that could be going wrong:
- You didn't apply the correct patch (make sure the region is correct);
- The ROM was already solar sensor-patched (try the Clean+Patch patches, or find a clean, unpatched ROM);
- The emulator uses its own hacks to fake the sunlight level, which clashes with the hack (see if you can turn that off, or try a different emulator).
 

bookdragon143

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
162
Country
United States
I used the u patch so that isn't the problem (is the beta any better?).
And I used the clean+patch patch so that's done. I tried another emulator and I couldn't get it to work at all.
 

chetchaka

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
179
Country
United States
There's an error with the Filetrip downloader - I'll try again tomorrow as well, but as of today, the downloader that I downloaded goes anywhere from 50 - 70 percent completion (despite the desired file not even partially downloading), and then gives me an error after some idle time.

"Message from webpage

? There appears to be a network download problem. Try again?"

I know for a fact that I have a working internet connection, and FileTrip still works for me. Results are the same with firewall disabled and enabed. There is no antivirus.

I'm not sure if it can be solved but thank you for your time!
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://www.youtube.com/@legolambs