Black Ops 2 PC Graphics card

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Muhyo, Jan 30, 2013.

Jan 30, 2013

Black Ops 2 PC Graphics card by Muhyo at 4:23 AM (752 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Muhyo

    Newcomer Muhyo Executor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Muhyo and Roji's Bureau of Supernatural Investigat
    Country:
    United States
  2. Sly 3 4 me

    Member Sly 3 4 me GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps mention the graphics card you are referring to. That would probably help in an answer.
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,743
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a GT 520. Based on a sysreq site I googled up, it CAN run the game.

    However since its got a low rating, and the recommended requirements are HD3870 or higher (I.e. midrange or high end graphics), it will give you a choppy experience.

    Under $50 graphics cards will give you similar results (though some are better than others, and someone may be able to recommend a better one than the 520). I personally don't think it's economically sensible to get any graphics card under $100, but that's my biased opinion as a system builder for budgets of $400+ (for the entire system, not just graphics card).
     
  4. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Well, my laptop has a GT 540M ( maybe with similar specs to the 520 ? ) and can run BO2 really smoothly with most settings at high or medium.
    Granted , if I use 1080p I don't expect 60fps, but I don't mind playing my games at 720p if the framerate improves drastically.
    Which is the case with most games on my laptop.

    Anyway, COD games in generally are usually not very demanding and run reasonably well on most PCs.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well the 540M's like 70% more powerful than the 520M. The low numbers tend to drop off pretty steep.
     
  6. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,024
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Shouldn't my GT XXXM be less powerful then a desktop graphic card ?
    I know is surely better then the 520M, but I though the desktop GT 520 had a little more punch to it.

    Anyway, I really love my laptop, I wish there would be a way to replace the video card with something better for those poorly optimized or more demanding games, but I guess I'll just live with it and enjoy what I can decently run on it and get a new one in about two years.
     
  7. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,911
    Country:
    Australia
    Only expect a semi-decent frame-rate at lowest settings.
     
  8. LockeCole_101629

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Lanlan likes this.
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, my bad on the M model.
     
  10. Muhyo

    Newcomer Muhyo Executor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Muhyo and Roji's Bureau of Supernatural Investigat
    Country:
    United States
    Okay but will the graphics card I linked work for a laptop? :dry:
     
  11. Lanlan

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    Are you talking about upgrading a laptop? That's nearly impossible, GPU-wise
     
  12. Muhyo

    Newcomer Muhyo Executor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Muhyo and Roji's Bureau of Supernatural Investigat
    Country:
    United States
    No I need a graphics card for my laptop that'll run bo2 preferably cheap
     
  13. Lanlan

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    Laptop graphics cards are really expensive, and hardly any laptops even HAVE upgradable graphics.
     
  14. Jaems

    Member Jaems GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, you cannot buy a graphics card to upgrade your laptop. Most of its parts are not interchangeable like a desktops. The GPU you linked is, expectedly, for a desktop.

    EDIT: If you really want to play high-end games on PC, my advice would be to just buy a desktop or preferably buy parts and build your own. In the end, it'll almost always be cheaper than buying the laptop equivalent AND it'll be easier to customize.
     
    Celice likes this.
  15. Muhyo

    Newcomer Muhyo Executor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Muhyo and Roji's Bureau of Supernatural Investigat
    Country:
    United States
    Well when I play bo2 it gives me a directx error
     
  16. Lanlan

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    What are your specs?
     
  17. Muhyo

    Newcomer Muhyo Executor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Muhyo and Roji's Bureau of Supernatural Investigat
    Country:
    United States
    well I'm not on my laptop right now the error is directx has encountered an unrecoverable error read readme for solutions p.s. there is no readme
     
  18. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,743
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Adapters do exist to plug desktop graphics into laptops. Also, certain laptops use a standardised GPU socket to upgrade to certain supported GPUs. Then there are laptops that use the APU or graphics-on-die design that are much easier to upgrade. Finally there exist graphics cards fitted for expansion ports or even for USB. In these ways you are wrong.

    But all of the above are rare so essentially you are right. It is more accurate to say it is extremely difficult and not viable to upgrade graphics in laptops. Add on top that he's after affordable graphics...
     
  19. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Originality likes this.
  20. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,898
    Country:
    United States
    Post specs and we can tell you what shrivel of a chance you have of playing the game with your current hardware.

    But expect the answer to be a 'no.'

    :/
     

Share This Page