Been away for some time - can the Vita run PSP games or PS2 games?

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Hacking & Homebrew' started by dancooper93, Dec 7, 2012.

Dec 7, 2012
    • Newcomer

dancooper93 New Member

Message Count:
    United Kingdom
    Can the Vita be hacked for a start?

And if so, can it run PSP ISO's extracted from UMD's or PS2 games?

If so, how do I do this?

Thanks!

yifan_lu New Member

Message Count:
    United States
    Nope, you can't. Not anymore.

Rydian Resident Furvert™

Message Count:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    United States
    It's never been able to play PS2 games.

There is official support for PSP games, but only those bought online.

There has been some homebrew, but they rely on online shop games and Sony is pulling+patching those exploits within hours sometimes, and even then it only gives you a limited PSP-mode (usermode homebrew only).
    • Reporter

Foxi4 Hey, Einstein! I'm on your side!

Message Count:
    Poland
    Total Noob's solution gives you kernel access, so it's a CFW equivalent for the Vita's PSP sandbox. That said, yes, you gotta hunt down an exploit first.

Rydian Resident Furvert™

Message Count:
    United States
    Did that ever actually, you know, come out in a usable form?

'Cause if not then it's not relevant to the OP, who I'm sure is more interested in what's actually possible. :P
    • Reporter

Message Count:
    Poland
    It did come out in a "usable" form - in fact it had a few revisions already... :P

Rydian Resident Furvert™

Message Count:
    United States
    So was I thinking of something else that had the game name leaked early and patched?
    • Reporter

Message Count:
    Poland