Basic Do's and Do NOT's of vWii modding

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Homebrew' started by damysteryman, Dec 17, 2012.

Dec 17, 2012
    • Member

    DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    724
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Of course. Just make sure you use the modified version with the Kill_AntiSysTitleInstall patches by damysteryman.

    And btw, yes, you can install IOS236 even though you don't have the IOS36 anymore. Remember that the installer reads the data from the IOS36-64-v3864.wad file. The only difference here is that you wouldn't have to dump it from your vWii NAND, but instead google for it, as I said earlier.


    • Newcomer

    MysteriousSparrow New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Message Count:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Hm. It's just that the IOS236 Installer wouldn't launch from the HBC, and resulted in a black screen.
    • Newcomer

    MrVestek New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    16
    Country:
    Ireland
    Please don't do that, that's how I bricked my vWii.
    • Member

    DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    724
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Nope, you bricked it by using the batch installer function from YAWMM. I don't think I have to remind you that, while it just installs a bunch of WADs stored in folder, it was actually your fault for not checking if you had any critical system titles (like IOS80) in there before proceeding. You shouldn't blame the application, really.

    A single WAD installation should be perfectly "safe", as long as you exactly know what to install (note that in this case we're not modifying the System Menu IOS, but reinstalling a completely different one).
    Last edited by DarkMatterCore, Dec 20, 2012
    • Member

    driverdis I am Justice

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    546
    Country:
    United States
    install IOS36 wad using this
    YAWMM DE (latest HW_AHBPROT patches): http://downloads.nanolx.org/YAWMM_DE-rev5b.tar.bz2
    IT uses the runtime HW-AHBPROT patches so it does not need IOS236 to Install IOS36.
    MAKE SURE the IOS36 you install is the vWii one before you do it.
    • Newcomer

    MysteriousSparrow New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Message Count:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome, thank you guys! Got everything worked out!
    • Newcomer

    Captain_N New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Id suggest waiting on messing with the vWii. Let the developers and testers work on it.
    They will perfect it and there will be less of a risk. Im sure with in 4 months time things will be mostly worked out.
    Remember how long it took to get usb loading perfected.
    • Member

    TrapperKeeperX New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Message Count:
    405
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anyway you can dump the vWii NAND so I can obtain the IOS' on my own is there any applications I can get them so I can start playing off my vWii?
    • Member

    driverdis I am Justice

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    546
    Country:
    United States
    Use FSTOOLBOX

    • Newcomer

    GinBunBun New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Message Count:
    4
    Location:
    Crooksville, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    I accidently installed ios 80 from the original wii i really dont know why the heck i did that but in doing so well everytime i try to load the wii mode it goes to a black screen and doesnt load. is there any way to restore the ios 80 and fix it?
    • Member

    Supercool330 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Message Count:
    594
    Country:
    United States
    Not yet, you will have to wait until Wii U mode gets hacked and there is a way to install files, or until Nintendo pushes a new version of IOS80 or the system menu.

    DO NOT TRY TO INSTALL ANY PATCHED IOS BELOW 200
    • Newcomer

    GinBunBun New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Message Count:
    4
    Location:
    Crooksville, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    aww man. well thanks anyway
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,495
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    "or until Nintendo pushes a new version of IOS80 or the system menu."
    only if his patched IOS doesn't have the version maxed out and the new IOS has a higher version number (well, I'm only assuming vWii is working like Wii for updates. Maybe they can overwrite IOS without caring about the version anymore)
    Usually Nintendo creates a new IOS and use a new slot when there's a new system menu.
    I doubt they will release a new Wii/vWii system menu so you are stuck with a bricked vWii, unless they patch/fix hacked vWii.


    We should recommend that users use a new, empty, formated SD card for vWii.
    Not the same one they use on Wii, because they likely already have some wads and Wii files in the folders which could be inadvertently installed on vWii without the user's consent (auto-install of batch files?).
    • Member

    diddy81 Wii Theme Team

    Member Since:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    647
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    ive made up a version of my darkwii blue that should work im like 95% sure it would work fine just have not had the guts to try installing it

    if anyone has the hardware to restore a nand just in case it bricks and would like to test it send me a pm ;)
    • Member

    Supercool330 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Message Count:
    594
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if changing the version number in the vWii title will change the version number in the Wii U title that wraps it. I suspect it won't in which case the update will replace the old version.
    • Member

    driverdis I am Justice

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    546
    Country:
    United States
    nobody is really sure if vWii titles show up at all,yet as a Wii U title that symbolically links to a title on the vWii NAND.

    it would make more sense that Nintendo has a Wii U "IOS" whose purpose is reading and writing to the vWii NAND.

    this is all Hypothetical as I do not know any more about how the Wii U mode stuff works then the rest of us here.
    • Member

    KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,421
    Country:
    United States
    Void it because of the brick or/and the channel.

    Just want to make sure.
    • Member

    crono141 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Message Count:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    I can't get the ios236 vWii installer to work at all. I keep getting an SD card error when it tries to load ios36-64-vXXXX.wad off the SD card. I have the correct file named correctly in the root of the SD card, but it just always gives me that error.

    Any way to patch it on PC and install it using YAWMM?
    • Member

    Skeet1983 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    807
    Country:
    United States
    Any way to get channel cheats for WiiWare/VC games in Gecko OS yet?
    • Member

    driverdis I am Justice

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    546
    Country:
    United States
    just use D2X Cios for vWii and WiiFlow 4.0.5
    i have tested cheats on WiiWare/VC games using WiiFlow and it works.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page