Are modchips useful anymore?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by no_chocobo, Dec 19, 2012.

Dec 19, 2012
    • Newcomer

    no_chocobo New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Message Count:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    I've got an original WiiKey laying around, is it good for anything anymore?
    • Member

    Psionic Roshambo New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,638
    Country:
    United States
    I have a few spares myself (picked them up bulk, Chinese knock offs but they work fine.)

    About how useful they are.... not sure, pretty much it breaks down to these two advantages.

    Booting of GC back ups with sound is easier with a chip.
    Booting of Wii back ups will run at the full 6X instead of the 3X speed (but USB loading is even faster now... but installing too the USB drive will be 2X as fast?.)

    A nice thing about the Wii Key is once they are all updated you can still softmod with it so you get the best of both worlds.

    I keep mine around just for the hell of it, I think I paid about a buck each so the three I have left are no big loss.

    Edit: Unless they figured out a way past that whole copied DVD media running at half speed thing? I haven't really kept up on it... lol
    • Supervisor

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Message Count:
    9,109
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I still have a WiiKey in mine :P Well, it's nice for games like Metroid Prime 3 which require IOS reloading, as with a Modchip it just works out of the box.

    I dunno if IOS reloading now works flawlessly in USB loaders, tho ;)
    • Member

    Arras I will be your hexahedron today

    Member Since:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Message Count:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, mine has a modchip as well. Still, USB loading and stuff has gotten so advanced I don't really use it anymore. IOS reloading was supported from d2x cIOS rev5 onward or something, might be off by one or two revisions.
    • Supervisor

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Message Count:
    9,109
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Oh, good to know :yay:
    • Member

    Psionic Roshambo New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,638
    Country:
    United States
    Just get the Metroid Prime Trilogy!!! It's fantastic lol

    The last few batches of D2X CIOS's fixed the IOS reload thing, so they work really well these days.

    Edit: Get up to get a drink come back to post and see my post is pretty much already posted... lol
    Last edited by PsionicRoshambo, Dec 19, 2012
    • Member

    Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Member Since:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Message Count:
    12,329
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    their useful if you still play gamecube games from discs thats all i pretty much use mine for now. i can't be bothered with DIOS MIOS
    Last edited by Bladexdsl, Dec 19, 2012
    • Member

    Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,713
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I guess if you have a few DVDs and a modchip lying around, it's cheaper than buying an SD or a USB stick (though both can be had for VERY cheap now).
    USB Loading only lags behind modchips in 3 areas:

    1) Call of Duty 3 refuses to run on ANY USB Loader with ANY settings IIRC tstwitter proved me wrong
    2) Gamecube backup loading (DIOS MIOS needs better audio streaming, and Devolution is inconvenient)
    3) The Wii Mini
    Last edited by Fishaman P, Dec 20, 2012
    • Member

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Member Since:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    1,941
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    I still have a few Wii's with modchips :D
    - 1x WODE modchip
    - 1x Wii modded with an Serial adapter (Male, from an old serial cable) then i had the Female connector only in witch i had fitted a female pic holder
    I had a few pic's that i could program with my picprogrammer
    - 1 pic with Yaosm
    - 1 pic with Yowii (or something like that)
    - 1 pic with WiiFree

    Then i had another female serial adapter where a cyclowiz was fitted in and another one with the WiiKey

    Why modded?, cause i love to mess around with stuff, see if i can do it, is it of any use now?, not really, but i guess for some it does for there GC backups.
    Mine are also all softmodded (like mentioned a few posts above, best of both worlds) and none of them i have used since i got myself a Wii-U.
    For GC i still use my real GC
    Last edited by DjoeN, Dec 19, 2012
    • Newcomer

    tstwitter New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Message Count:
    60
    Country:
    Canada
    Um, no Call of Duty 3 works just fine (need to prevent ios reload, and use ios 249). It was fixed about 1 1/2 yrs ago. Here are my personal notes on that game. And yes, it intially did not work in the pre-dx2 erray.

    "- COD 3 was fixed after you updated the cIOS to DX2 and updated Config USB Loader (online) then ensured you were using cIOS 249 and double checked that IOS reload is blocked"

    I use Config v70r35, d2x v8-final, cios 249 for just about 99% of all games. ALL the COD series work just fine now. I LIVE doing softmods as it's super easy to copy updates from my Wii to my friends Wii's as well, so we are all on the same platform. You can't do that effectively with hardmods. So that is why I prefer softmods handsdown.
    • Member

    NahuelDS Madre de Dios! Es El POLLO DIABLO!!!

    Member Since:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,519
    Location:
    DS-Scene
    Country:
    Argentina
    I have a WODE but I dont use it anymore

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page