arc rise fantasia freezes

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by strict9gs, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. sno_opy

    sno_opy Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    May 12, 2011
    Brazil
    Thanks for the prompt reply guys. I did install rev20 and rev21 as base56 (on both 249 and 250) but didn't work.

    I tried installing the cIOSX rev21 d2x v3 but when the download starts, the installation is interrupted with the following error: "HASH BAD", so I installed via ModMii / MMM (249 on base ios 56 and 250 on base ios 57). Updated CFGLoader to the latest version (68d). Also didn't work. Froze at the same place. Argh!

    I am playing the undub version btw.
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,921
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    There are 2 undub versions:
    - One without japanese cut-scene audio (it's a simple audio files swap)
    - One "fix" with added japanese cut-scene audio (this one has all the event's talk in Japanese).

    I tested both undub versions with Wiiflow and USBLoaderGX + IOSx rev20 base56 and they worked fine.
    I had the dragon scene freezing only one time.


    Did you correctly set the IOS individually for this game?
    Check that the game doesn't reload to something else, like IOS222.

    Maybe you just have a bad dump.
    You can check the MD5 in WiiBackupManager.
    Here's my "fix" version: 518FECF139107AC13FF95CA17EF37168
     
  3. sno_opy

    sno_opy Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    May 12, 2011
    Brazil
    I have the "fix" undub version. Checked the MD5 hash and yup, the same as yours. And I still have the dragon freeze, and it always occurs. It seems that, when the game try to load the following cg (the one L'Arc and the girl talk while the sun is rising), the game freezes. I am very disappointed with that, it's the second game to freeze (besides Call of Duty Black Ops, which I never could fix as well).

    An yes, answering your other question, I did set the IOS correctly. I tried 249, then 250. No dice.

    Since there is no apparently solution, I skipped the movies and watched them over youtube. I was glad at least I could play after skipping them. Now I hope I don't get a freeze on Jada, or any other part in the game...
     
  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,921
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    It's very strange that it's working fine for me but not for you.
    Maybe it has something to do with another setting, like the default language set on your console, the video signal (but it should be correctly set to NTSC-u for you in Brazil), Ocarina patch activated, something like that.
    I have the "return to" patch enabled and it worked fine past the intro.

    Well, at least you could see the video on youtube [​IMG]
    Good luck with the next known freeze point in Jada.
     
  5. krush_lion

    krush_lion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Jan 24, 2017
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Sorry for necroposting, but did you find any solution? I'm getting exactly the same freezing screen as you.
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,921
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Arc rise Fantasia required Base56 to work. (back when the default base was 38, a lot of people had to reinstall a new cIOS with base56 instead).
    I don't know if it works fine with base57, but just be sure you are using a cIOS based on IOS56.

    to answer the other thing you quoted (as I don't know which information you really are talking about), call of duty require a cIOS based on IOS57.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Aug 23, 2017
  7. krush_lion

    krush_lion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Jan 24, 2017
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Thank you for your response. I finished CoD Black Ops without any problem. It's just Arc Rise Fantasia that stucks during the dialogs when L'Arc and the dragon fell down. I have the "fix" undub version of the game. Here is my syscheck:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,572
    8,921
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    ah, it freezes right at the start of the game, in the intro ? I think I had this freeze once, but trying again worked fine. maybe it's random.
    The freeze I talked about just above which happen if you don't use "base56", it freezes at the start of a battle in the first town. battles outside the town worked, but only in the town you needed a cIOS based on IOS56.

    Your slot249 is perfect for this game, so I don't know why it freezes.
    try to set default settings (don't force any video mode, don't enable cheats, I don't know what else) just to see if it affects the game. I don't think, but that's worth trying.


    you can try slot250, or even slot224 too (it uses IOS57 as base). sometime Hermes IOS are having different compatibilities than Waninkoko cIOS. (d2x is continuation of Waninkoko's project)

    another thing ou can try is start the game with the normal (not undub) version. pass the freezing point, save, then use undub ISO again.
    I don't know what the "fix" version is fixing.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Aug 25, 2017
  9. krush_lion

    krush_lion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Jan 24, 2017
    Cote d'Ivoire
    So, tried the original version (the dub sucks) and worked fine, but the undub version didn't (the one with all voices in japanese). Thank you for your help, Cyan.
     
  10. remlei

    remlei Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    62
    5
    Mar 26, 2013
    lol. I can still remember back then when I played this game, Wii hates Adele so much, I have 3 freezes on this game and that always involve Adele (until she became the Real Diva).
     
  11. JellyPerson

    JellyPerson GBATemp certified Gorillaz Fan

    Member
    159
    245
    Jul 26, 2017
    United States
    that place full of lurkers
    necrobump much? also kinda off topic imo