Hacking Apparently it IS possible to trick nes golf into loading on your switch

Jhynjhiruu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
1,708
Country
I finally managed to get PegaSwitch 3.0 running, so here are my obligatory screenshots from Golf. And no, I have zero proof these aren't faked. 2017071113475000-E1033EFC50A7F34F49546B0E8F1A30D8.jpg 2017071113475300-E1033EFC50A7F34F49546B0E8F1A30D8.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Masterwin

conanac

Be an Angel
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
267
Trophies
1
XP
329
Country
United States
In case anyone with Windows 7 wants to try this. You could run start.js with option --disable-curses and set the log to a file.

Here are the steps that I use:
Code:
0. Make triple sure that your Nintendo Switch cannot connect to Internet (only to your home network) and
   its Primary and Secondary DNS are set to your PC IP address
   (since I use System Update to connect to PegaSwitch on step 4 below,
   or you could use Connection Test)
1. Open command window with administrator right
2. Use the following command:
   node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt
3. Wait until it says:
   "Responding with address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Switch DNS IP: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (Use this to connect)"
   where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is your PC IP where you run this command window
4. On your Nintendo Switch, go to System Settings menu and choose System Update
5. Wait, and be patient (in case this is the first time running/connecting PegaSwitch)
6. You will see PegaSwitch by ReSwitched on Nintendo Switch screen
7. On command window you get the message:
   "Switch connected"
8. Use the following command in that command window:
   evalfile ./usefulscripts/setRtc.js
9. It produces the message:
   "'no output'"
10. On your Nintendo Switch, press button "B" to go back to System Settings menu
    (this will disconnect PegaSwitch)
11. Check Date and Time in the System Settings menu and it should show Current date and time:
    "7/11/2017 8:00 am"
12. Now press button "B" again until you are in the Home menu
13. Do Iwata's "Directly to You" gesture with left and right Joy-Cons
14. Profit...

And here is the video capture of Nintendo Switch while executing those steps.


Cheers.
 

blinkzane

Panic at your moms house
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
944
Trophies
1
Location
Florida
XP
1,640
Country
United States
In case anyone with Windows 7 wants to try this. You could run start.js with option --disable-curses and set the log to a file.

Here are the steps that I use:
Code:
0. Make triple sure that your Nintendo Switch cannot connect to Internet (only to your home network) and
   its Primary and Secondary DNS are set to your PC IP address
   (since I use System Update to connect to PegaSwitch on step 4 below,
   or you could use Connection Test)
1. Open command window with administrator right
2. Use the following command:
   node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt
3. Wait until it says:
   "Responding with address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Switch DNS IP: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (Use this to connect)"
   where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is your PC IP where you run this command window
4. On your Nintendo Switch, go to System Settings menu and choose System Update
5. Wait, and be patient (in case this is the first time running/connecting PegaSwitch)
6. You will see PegaSwitch by ReSwitched on Nintendo Switch screen
7. On command window you get the message:
   "Switch connected"
8. Use the following command in that command window:
   evalfile ./usefulscripts/setRtc.js
9. It produces the message:
   "'no output'"
10. On your Nintendo Switch, press button "B" to go back to System Settings menu
    (this will disconnect PegaSwitch)
11. Check Date and Time in the System Settings menu and it should show Current date and time:
    "7/11/2017 8:00 am"
12. Now press button "B" again until you are in the Home menu
13. Do Iwata's "Directly to You" gesture with left and right Joy-Cons
14. Profit...

And here is the video capture of Nintendo Switch while executing those steps.


Cheers.

I do
node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt
pegaswitch launches, tells me to input 10.0.0.xxx for my ip address
put it in both switch DNS settings
nothing happens, cant connect to internet and it doesnt pop up anything new in the shell
 

blinkzane

Panic at your moms house
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
944
Trophies
1
Location
Florida
XP
1,640
Country
United States
I do
node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt
pegaswitch launches, tells me to input 10.0.0.xxx for my ip address
put it in both switch DNS settings
nothing happens, cant connect to internet and it doesnt pop up anything new in the shell
scratchs that. I just disabled my firewall entirely and it works fine
 
D

Deleted-394630

Guest
I'm running on Linux Sub-System on Windows 10 or whatever it's called, everything was flawless until:
npm install
It threw out errors afterwrds:
Code:
npm WARN deprecated [email protected]:   Thanks for using Babel: we recommend using babel-preset-env now: please read babeljs.io/env to update!
npm WARN optional SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: [email protected] (node_modules/fsevents):
npm WARN optional SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: Error: EACCES: permission denied, rename '/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/.staging/fsevents-c7ebe718/node_modules/hoek' -> '/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/.staging/hoek-2f7e2e00'

npm ERR! path /home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/core-js
npm ERR! code ENOENT
npm ERR! errno -2
npm ERR! syscall rename
npm ERR! enoent ENOENT: no such file or directory, rename '/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/core-js' -> '/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/.core-js.DELETE'
npm ERR! enoent This is related to npm not being able to find a file.
npm ERR! enoent

npm ERR! A complete log of this run can be found in:
npm ERR!     /home/Admin/.npm/_logs/2017-10-09T05_09_03_409Z-debug.log
Any clue what happened?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Attempting to run:
sudo node start.js
results in:
Code:
module.js:529
    throw err;
    ^

Error: Cannot find module 'browserify'
    at Function.Module._resolveFilename (module.js:527:15)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:476:23)
    at Module.require (module.js:568:17)
    at require (internal/module.js:11:18)
    at Object.<anonymous> (/home/Admin/pegaswitch/start.js:6:20)
    at Module._compile (module.js:624:30)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:635:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:545:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:508:12)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:500:3)
 

_______

 
Member
Joined
May 13, 2016
Messages
515
Trophies
0
XP
834
Country
Japan
Out of interest what are you running Pegaswitch on? I remember giving it a quick try a little while back and got some DNS error and didn't bother trying further. I was using a Ubuntu VM in Windows though so maybe it was a network adapter issue.

macOS, but I'm 100% sure it will work on Linux as well.
 

OblivionReign

Developer
Developer
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
2,544
Trophies
2
XP
7,728
Country
Japan
Twitter user jam1garner was able to use pegaswitch to trick his nes into launching nes golf. I was attempting to do this same through his instructions but came across issues during npm install on the clone installation portion. I'd like to see if anyone else is capable of launching or knows a little more about coding than me. You will need the latest versions of node, git, and python. It's easier to install python and a few other tools using

Anyways we can go over errors here or maybe someone with experience can get it done quicker.

FOR WINDOWS USERS
go here
follow prereqs and use POWERSHELL to enable and COMMAND to install Linux
Run bash to launch WSL, it will launch automatically the first time and ask to create a username and password
Run CD
Run Sudo apt-get install npm
( if NPM or NODE wont update, follow this https://aigeec.com/installing-node-js-on-windows-10-bash/)
Instructions by SYNTAXYZ
Nintendo Switch is at version 3.0.0
My computer system is running Linux 4.4.0-93-generic #116~14.04.1-Ubuntu x86_64.
Well there where some errors yes, if this helps anyone here are the additional steps for a clean debian based system with apt-get/aptitude.

-- Change directory to your Home
> cd ~

-- update your packages
> sudo apt-get update
> sudo apt-get upgrade

-- Install build-essential ( for make )
> sudo apt-get install build-essential

-- Install nodejs 8.4.0
> curl -sL https://deb.nodesource.com/setup_8.x | sudo -E bash -
> sudo apt-get install -y nodejs

-- Install git
> sudo apt-get install git

-- Install python
> sudo apt-get install python

-- Clone the pegaswitch git repo
> git clone https://github.com/reswitched/pegaswitch.git

-- Change directory to the pegaswitch dir
> cd pegaswitch

-- Let node package manager install dependencies for pegaswitch (be patient)
> npm install

-- Now you are ready to run pegaswitch
> sudo node start.js

(any errors here or lack of launch, try
node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt )

The shell will present you with the ip of your system, this IP you will need to put as your DNS settings in your nintendo switch.

Then when you are ready to connect to your network with your modified DNS settings, a browser will start automaticaly with a nice pegaswitch logo.
You do not need to press the refresh button, the exploit is already active. You will notice in your pegaswitch shell on your computer that your switch is now connected.

In the pegaswitch shell run the recommended command as documented on the pegaswitch github page:
> evalfile ./usefulscripts/SetupNew.js

Then run the Script that changes your time
> evalfile ./usefulscripts/setRtc.js

you will receive "no output". this is normal

make sure your date and time is is set to synchronize automatically


Theoretically you should be able to launch nes golf after this.....
edit:can confirm this works btw, after trial and error I launched it on my 3.0 switch using windows powershell w/ linux distribution
I have no linux experience but i finished everything up to the final command to launch pegaswitch but i instead get error

"There was an issue setting up DNS: bind EADDRINUSE 0.0.0.0:53"

even doing the second command for if there was any error didnt change it. So idk. Anyhelp here :)?
 

blinkzane

Panic at your moms house
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
944
Trophies
1
Location
Florida
XP
1,640
Country
United States
I'm running on Linux Sub-System on Windows 10 or whatever it's called, everything was flawless until:
npm install
It threw out errors afterwrds:
Code:
npm WARN deprecated [email protected]:   Thanks for using Babel: we recommend using babel-preset-env now: please read babeljs.io/env to update!
npm WARN optional SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: [email protected] (node_modules/fsevents):
npm WARN optional SKIPPING OPTIONAL DEPENDENCY: Error: EACCES: permission denied, rename '/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/.staging/fsevents-c7ebe718/node_modules/hoek' -> '/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/.staging/hoek-2f7e2e00'

npm ERR! path /home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/core-js
npm ERR! code ENOENT
npm ERR! errno -2
npm ERR! syscall rename
npm ERR! enoent ENOENT: no such file or directory, rename '/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/core-js' -> '/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/.core-js.DELETE'
npm ERR! enoent This is related to npm not being able to find a file.
npm ERR! enoent

npm ERR! A complete log of this run can be found in:
npm ERR!     /home/Admin/.npm/_logs/2017-10-09T05_09_03_409Z-debug.log
Any clue what happened?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Attempting to run:
sudo node start.js
results in:
Code:
module.js:529
    throw err;
    ^

Error: Cannot find module 'browserify'
    at Function.Module._resolveFilename (module.js:527:15)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:476:23)
    at Module.require (module.js:568:17)
    at require (internal/module.js:11:18)
    at Object.<anonymous> (/home/Admin/pegaswitch/start.js:6:20)
    at Module._compile (module.js:624:30)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:635:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:545:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:508:12)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:500:3)
Try
Sudo npm install
If not then check
Nodejs -v to make sure you have node up to date

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have no linux experience but i finished everything up to the final command to launch pegaswitch but i instead get error

"There was an issue setting up DNS: bind EADDRINUSE 0.0.0.0:53"

even doing the second command for if there was any error didnt change it. So idk. Anyhelp here :)?

I assume you are on windows

You need to allow port 53,80 and 8100 through your windows firewall. I had to disable firewall completely to get mine to work. Basically this means that something else is listening to port 53. Also, try restarting your computer and running it again. That can be the easiest fix
 
Last edited by blinkzane,

OblivionReign

Developer
Developer
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
2,544
Trophies
2
XP
7,728
Country
Japan
Try
Sudo npm install
If not then check
Nodejs -v to make sure you have node up to date

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



I assume you are on windows

You need to allow port 53,80 and 8100 through your windows firewall. I had to disable firewall completely to get mine to work. Basically this means that something else is listening to port 53. Also, try restarting your computer and running it again. That can be the easiest fix
Well sort of yeah. I have dual boot bpth OS
 
D

Deleted-394630

Guest
Try
Sudo npm install
If not then check
Nodejs -v to make sure you have node up to date

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



I assume you are on windows

You need to allow port 53,80 and 8100 through your windows firewall. I had to disable firewall completely to get mine to work. Basically this means that something else is listening to port 53. Also, try restarting your computer and running it again. That can be the easiest fix
I got no errors on npm install so thanks for that, but now when I do:
node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt
I get:
Please run as root so we can bind to port 53 & 80
I've already disabled my firewall, so what else could it be?
 

Jhynjhiruu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
817
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
1,708
Country
Well sort of yeah. I have dual boot bpth OS
If you're doing this on Windows: Don't.
If you're doing this on Linux: Disable dnsmasq (semi-optional), then use sudo node start.js --host 127.0.0.0, then copy the dns it says listening and do sudo node start.js --host <internal ip here>
 

Soluble

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
609
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
588
Country
Thanks for all the steps. I wasn't going to bother doing this but woke up early this morning so figured i'd give it a shot. Can get it to run about 90% of the time!
 
Last edited by Soluble,

blinkzane

Panic at your moms house
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
944
Trophies
1
Location
Florida
XP
1,640
Country
United States
I got no errors on npm install so thanks for that, but now when I do:
node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt
I get:
Please run as root so we can bind to port 53 & 80
I've already disabled my firewall, so what else could it be?
Sudo node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Sudo is root, if you do "Sudo su" before you start anything you can bypass doing Sudo, su is super user. Basically admin rights

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you're doing this on Windows: Don't.
If you're doing this on Linux: Disable dnsmasq (semi-optional), then use sudo node start.js --host 127.0.0.0, then copy the dns it says listening and do sudo node start.js --host <internal ip here>
works fine on windows for me. I can run it cmd no problem, but I use WSL anyways because of support.
 
D

Deleted-394630

Guest
Sudo node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Sudo is root, if you do "Sudo su" before you start anything you can bypass doing Sudo, su is super user. Basically admin rights

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

works fine on windows for me. I can run it cmd no problem, but I use WSL anyways because of support.
I did sudo su before starting anything, ended up with a new error (Sorry for giving you all these):
Code:
Error: EINVAL: invalid argument, uv_interface_addresses
    at Object.networkInterfaces (os.js:126:30)
    at Object.ip.address (/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/ip/lib/ip.js:357:23)
    at Object.<anonymous> (/home/Admin/pegaswitch/start.js:61:28)
    at Module._compile (module.js:624:30)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:635:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:545:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:508:12)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:500:3)
    at Function.Module.runMain (module.js:665:10)
    at startup (bootstrap_node.js:187:16)
 

blinkzane

Panic at your moms house
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
944
Trophies
1
Location
Florida
XP
1,640
Country
United States
I did sudo su before starting anything, ended up with a new error (Sorry for giving you all these):
Code:
Error: EINVAL: invalid argument, uv_interface_addresses
    at Object.networkInterfaces (os.js:126:30)
    at Object.ip.address (/home/Admin/pegaswitch/node_modules/ip/lib/ip.js:357:23)
    at Object.<anonymous> (/home/Admin/pegaswitch/start.js:61:28)
    at Module._compile (module.js:624:30)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:635:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:545:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:508:12)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:500:3)
    at Function.Module.runMain (module.js:665:10)
    at startup (bootstrap_node.js:187:16)
what did you input for this error?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

if this is an issues with node start.js, find out what your ipv4 is, and do this
Sudo node start.js --disable-curses --logfile debug.txt --host 0.0.0.0
insert your ip address where 0.0.0.0 is
im not sure what that errors is but I've seen where people had to force their computer to output their IP
you can find out your ipv4 by typing "ipconfig"
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: This movie rip so werid has 1080p quality but the audios ripped with movie theater audio quality