Homebrew A question about the 3DS and programming

1Zero

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Venezuela
This might sound stupid, but should a complete beginner who's interested in 3DS homebrew, learn how to program with C++ or Python ?

Lucar

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
LUA would be best, C is way out of a beginners league. Plus, LUA is like Python in some ways, so it would make it easier to learn python earlier.

sup3rgh0st

Top Tier Ghost
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
You should learn C, which is used with Smea's Homebrew Launcher. Take a look at his samples here: https://github.com/smealum/ctrulib/tree/master/examples : as well as the Pixel program that comes with DevKitARM/CitruLIB.
You can go a long way by just copy-pasting from samples and modifying numbers. When in doubt, look at other peoples source : http://www.3dbrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_Applications : to learn how to make the basics, then expand on what you learned. While I'm sure people would say my code is sloppy and terrible, feel free to look at the source for a simpler game I made : https://github.com/sup3rgh0st/Chroma-Cannon :.

Professional Shitposter
Trophies
XP
Country
Argentina
I've only used Lua (lpp-3DS) and it's reaaaaally easy, you can do really neat stuff like playing sound or drawing fonts with 2-5 lines of code. Eventually I want to learn (and migrate to, if possible) C/C++, but yeah, I'll take it easy.

~Poke~

Trophies
XP
Country