Banned!
OP
Banned
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello.

I want to create a hardware Mod for my old3DSXL v. 9.9.0 26 U that allows you to use a micro USB NES controller. I have knowledge in C++ and am learning ARM assembly. I am just a beginner, so I don't really know where to start or how to work with the old3DSXL's SoC Integrated Circuits. I am not an electrical engineer, but I am willing to learn both the hardware and software aspects of this Mod. I am willing to learn whatever it takes to make this work and I accept the risks. What should I learn about to get started on this hardware Mod? I don't know anything about the PCB or how to get the buttons on the controller to react to the 3DS. I also am not sure how to interface a micro USB port to my 3DS.

Can someone tell me what exactly I would need to know about the 3DSXL (PCB, ARM9 assembly, etc.) To actually have the knowledge and skills to pull of this Mod?

P.S. I am not asking how to do this Mod. I am aware that people cannot tell me step by step what to do. I just need to know what information is needed for this Mod. I am planning on using an original NES controller and connect it to a NES-to-usb adapter, then connect that end to a USB-microUSB adapter, then attach it to the modded port of my 3DSXL.

Last edited by [GBATemp]~IceStorm,

hippy dave

BBMB
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Easiest way at the 3ds end would be to connect directly to the points on the pcb that are switched by the actual controls, so the 3ds still thinks its own controls are being used, rather than trying to build in new hardware and software. The data coming from the nes controller connector is encoded in some way rather than just a pin for each switch like the old atari 9-pin so that side goes beyond my experience. Hopefully someone more helpful will come along.

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
you could probably use the controller mod from here
http://www.3dscapture.com/order.html