128 and 256 Mb games with Nand based save?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by AlbertoSONIC, Jun 27, 2014.

Jun 27, 2014
  1. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
    No i'm not... I don't need it, i use a 32gb fat32 card.
     


  2. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ok, well you could increase the distance from the end of the ROM. Maybe the save is larger than a meg.

    Use this little web app to calculate a safer distance:
    http://repl.it/Uf8/5
     
    AlbertoSONIC likes this.
  3. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
    Ah i noticed now that also Farming Simulator (128mb) has the same problem and that PilotWings Resort (128mb) says that saves are corrupted every time i launch it... How do i increase that distance?
     
  4. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Increase the first variable in the program. don't go too far or you will overwrite game data.
     
    AlbertoSONIC likes this.
  5. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
    Monster 4x4 3D (128mb) says that save are corrupted, but when i press to format them, it says that it can't access to save data...

    I'm sorry but i really didn't understand nothing..

    EDIT: I think that these games load due to the 02 code i added across 180 and 0b.... Probably the 02 code makes the game a card2 game, but when it get asked to save, he can't due to the code you told me...

    EDIT: After looking to the program you linked, now i'm sure that these codes are wrong... Look at 1024 mb code:

    00 F8 1F 00

    It's totally different from the one i used to convert 1gb games:

    00 7C 1D 00

    This works 100%...
     
  6. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,830
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I was originally trying to get the offsets for cards roms for the other guy at max console I had trouble trying to get them properly, for some reason it always started expanding the save size I kinda gave up, if you really want to play the games you can try expanding the rom to 512mb and use the 512 offset
     
  7. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
    How? I'm really a noob... I searched a little bit on google but about resizing a rom a only found how to trim a rom...
     
  8. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Pilotwings worked when i changed the distance from the end to 28 MBs. (data size is 97 MB so its right after that)
    00 20 03 00
     
    AlbertoSONIC likes this.
  9. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
    So that's the code?

    Yeah that works!!!! Is this code working with every 128mb game?
     
  10. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,830
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I was making these offsets last time, after inserting them I opened the rom up in 3dsexplorer, but every time it seemed editing the offer caused the writable region to either grow or shrink , the closer to the end of the rom the offer was the larger the save region became, often causing it to become out of bounds, not sure if I was messing it up, if 3dsexplorer has some bug or if there was something I was missing when it came to. How it works
     
  11. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    3dsexplorer is buggy as hell. :P

    Definitely not. The used ROM space will be different for each game.
    Use CTR app to find the used data size.
    http://scene.releases.free.fr/index.php?page=tools
     
    AlbertoSONIC likes this.
  12. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
    And then? How do i get the code? Like i said, i'm totally noob....

    Snailface can you tell me how to use the program you linked? Where do i need to insert data size?
     
  13. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I think i just need to make a little app to patch this feature in. Maybe later on tonight. It almost bedtime where i am.
     
    AlbertoSONIC likes this.
  14. gamesquest1

    Member gamesquest1 Nabnut

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13,830
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well that's nice to know I was like :s, I was hoping to get the save as close to the end as possible to make multi purpose offsets, do you know how the rewritable region size is defined? As the 3ds is just designed to fill the space it's given right seeing as 512kb is the biggest card1 save chip size afaik. I'm wondering why the nand save is always bigger, if there was a way to define the size you might be able to carry original saves over......but again idk really,just going off what was on 3dbrew and there no mention of defining the save size
    That would be good I did originally ask 3dsguy if he could add the feature to 3dsexplorer but he left the scene soon after
     
  15. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
    Thank you for your help! :)
     
  16. ETNWIND

    Newcomer ETNWIND Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    I always set the save offset a little distance (0x200 bytes) after the end of CCI data region so I don't have to worry about save size.
     
  17. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
  18. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
  19. AlbertoSONIC
    OP

    Member AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    929
    Country:
    Italy
    You're my hero! It works perfectly! Thank you!!!!
     
    Snailface likes this.
  20. Duo8

    Member Duo8 I don't like video games

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,411
    Country:
    Vietnam

Share This Page