Review: Pokemon Prism (Retro)

Pokemon Prism: Member Review

Retro 3,713 views 2 likes 12 comments
Reviewed by lcie nimbus, posted Dec 24, 2016, last updated Dec 24, 2016
To start off, i'm going to say : this game is the best thing that ever happened to romhacks, it has it's flaws, but it's amazing, like everyone one else, I was sorely disappointed when I heard this hack was cancelled, then hyped all over again when it was leaked, so here, this is my personal review of a game that I've been waiting for since I played the beta years ago .
Dec 24, 2016
  • Release Date (NA): December 22, 2016
  • Release Date (EU): December 22, 2016
  • Release Date (JP): December 22, 2016
  • Publisher: KoolBoyMan
  • Developer: KoolBoyMan
  • Genres: Rpg
  • ESRB Rating: Everyone
  • PEGI Rating: Seven years and older
  • Also For: Nintendo 3DS
  • Single player
    Local Multiplayer
    Online Multiplayer
    Co-operative
Pokémon prism is a Romhack, to be precise, a romhack of Pokémon Crystal, but what makes it stand out from all the other hacks out there is the fact that it's ambitious . Maybe too ambitious, it was shut down by Nintendo after they noticed it , but the version i'm reviewing is the .91 version , an almost complete version of the game with some minor content missing , so, is it worth your time ? let find out .
lcie nimbus
Pokémon Prism starts off great, not two minutes after starting you're already trapped in a cave, with only a larvitar to protect you, The game's story is actually much better done than the official games, while it won't win any awards for writing it still manages to be interesting . Like all other pokemon games, your goal is to collect as many pokemon as you can, battle all the Gym Leaders for their badges (all 20 of them) and defeat the champion . While the same as other pokemon games in this regard, Prism Was far more enjoyable for me than any of the mainstream games . The difficulty is fair during the first half of the game, but spikes quite a bit after you defeat the Champion . There Are also 6 new types, Sound, Gas , Wood, Wind, Fairy and Abnormal , However, only 3 of these types can be found in the leaked version. Fairy, Gas and Sound . Another nice feature is Character creation, you can chose between a boy or a girl, pick from various different models and colors, if you don't like your look' you can change it by visiting the Salon.
here are some of the game's new features.
Featuring the brand new region of Naljo (bigger than Johto), featuring 10 fresh and original cities, towns, and villages, as well as plenty of caves, forests, routes, and several more places.​
  • Return of the region of Rijon.
  • 252 Pokemon to find spanning from all four generations.
  • New Clock system - No longer real time but can keep track of days months and years.
  • Pokemon only areas.
  • Three new moves.
  • Several new items.
  • New music, ranging from music based from other games, to custom music.
  • The Gold Token system.
  • New TM/HM set.
  • Lots of scripts made from scratch.
  • ASM Work.
  • New Pokedex order (Naljo), as well as the National Dex
  • Interact with brand new characters and some returning characters ranging from the official games to characters from Brown.
The Pokémon-only areas of the game were fun to play , but are few and far between . Also the new types can be a real pain to fight against because they have a large advantage over every other type, with Sylveon being the most OP pokemon in the game . The new Naljo region was fun to explore, being very well thought out . all in all, the game has an impressive variety of things to offer players, from newbies to veterans alike . another Feature that showed just how much thought was put into the game was the Orphan system, by donating pokemon who were just sitting around in your PC, you earn Orphan points , which you can then use to adopt pokemon up for adoption , this is the only way to get the game's rarer pokemon and I liked it . The game corner has been expanded now offering new games like Blackjack and Poker, I found myself spending a few hours there, racking up coins for a rare pokemon or TM, speaking of TM's they are now infinite-use, meaning you can use the same one to teach a move to multiple pokemon, it's a bit like cheating but who cares ? there are many more mini-games in Prism, and i'm happy to report that all of them where "fun" .



But with the good comes the bad, one thing I mentioned earlier was the Large difficulty spike , after you defeat the champion , you can explore the different regions, but the trainers here are hellishly powerful, not only that but grinding is eliminated , with wild pokemon's levels dropping down to single digits . Another is the bugs I encountered , while only some of them froze the game , I was able to work around them , however another won't let me use my TM/HM's until I return to Naljo, saved and then reloaded the game . the game also isn't complete missing all of the post game story content, which, BTW means you can't catch any of the 4 new Legendaries . also some of the dungeons were too long and had a higher encounter rate than the rest of the game , meaning I had to either spend a lot of money on Repels or use an escape rope to get out and heal .

While I would have loved to play the Final version of this game , I am more than content with what I have , If your a fan of Pokémon , the seriously, stop reading and pick up this game , it's not perfect , but its the best romhack ever made .PERIOD

upload_2016-12-24_14-21-35.png

Screenshots.
pokeprism_1482456367230.png pokeprism_1482555490038.png upload_2016-12-24_15-13-34.png upload_2016-12-24_15-13-46.png upload_2016-12-24_15-14-1.png


Verdict
Pros
+ Looks and sounds great.
+ Greatly varied.
+ An entire new region to explore.
+ A ton of pokemon to catch and train.
+ New movesets for all pokemon.
+ 3 new types
Cons
- Bugs.
- The game itself is incomplete.
- HUGE difficulty spike post game.
8 Presentation
The game is very nicely presented , being in Gen 2 style yet feeling like something entirely unique . i couldn't get enough of it .
8 Gameplay
Yor Basic pokemon gameplay, but with new Change-ups . a bit slow at times.
9 Lasting Appeal
This game has A LOT to keep you occupied from 2 entire regions to explore , and also parts of Johto and Kanto, to clever puzzles, to farming skill levels, to.......well, a whole lot of stuff .
9
out of 10
Overall (not an average)
When taking everything into consideration , i give this game a solid 9 , a LOT of time and effort went into making this game, and its apparent all the way through .
Share
12 comments

  • HaloEffect17
  • HaloEffect17
  • hobbledehoy899
  • lcie nimbus
  • lcie nimbus
  • lcie nimbus
  • HaloEffect17
  • Sonic Angel Knight
  • lcie nimbus
  • Sonic Angel Knight
  • ImCarlosGG
  • lcie nimbus